Moolman Pasio scoops Awards top honours

  Story and photo:

Story and photo:


Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Ashleigh Moolman Pasio has been crowned SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year in Johannesburg.

Moolman Pasio fought off stiff competition from World Canoe Sprint Champs bronze medallist Bridgitte Hartley, and inspirational national netball captain Maryka Holtzhausen, to win the coveted trophy at the 2014 SPAR gsport Awards on Monday.

Moolman Pasio has been South Africa’s top-ranked women’s road cyclist for the last three years, currently ranked in the top 30 in the world. Her ambition is to achieve a top-5 World Ranking by 2016, to win a World Cup race and to achieve a medal, preferably gold, at Rio 2016.

In the further two key athlete categories, Tuks and SPAR Proteas shooter Lenize Potgieter was named gsport Up and Coming Athlete of the Year, while 2014 UCI World Champion in time trial and road race, Justine Asher was crowned gsport Athlete of the Year with Disability.

One of the biggest cheers of the morning was reserved for sports broadcasting pioneer, and the first woman anchor on SuperSport, Tinky Pringle, who was inducted into the gsport Hall of Fame, for paving the way for young women in the industry. Having kicked off her career at the SABC, Pringle spent 10 years with SuperSport covering live sport including football, tennis, rugby, Summer Olympics, Winter Olympics, cricket and golf.

The 2014 SPAR gsport Awards Winners:

gsport Volunteer of the Year: Khweshy Dubula
gsport Sports Federation of the Year: Bowls South Africa
gsport Sponsor of the Year: Airports Company South Africa
gsport Special Recognition Award Portia Modise
gsport Style Star: Zanele Mdodana
gsport Social Media: Star Ntando Stemmet
gsport Woman in Media: Busisiwe Mokwena
gsport Woman of the Year: Pearl Mosoane
gsport Coach of the Year: Hilton Moreeng
gsport Up and Coming Athlete of the Year: Lenize Potgieter
gsport Athlete of the Year with Disability: Justine Asher
SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year: Ashleigh Moolman Pasio
2014 gsport Hall of Fame Inductee: Tinky Pringle

Read the full story and more about the award winners here: