Junior Track team announcement for Junior World Champs – Astana (KAZ)

Cycling South Africa’s Track Commission has great pleasure in announcing that the following riders have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2015 UCI Junior Track Cycling World Championships in Astana, Kazakhstan from 19-23 August.

Endurance events:
Joshua Van Wyk
Sheldon Lahner
John Vlok
Waylin Young*
Ekhard Binding**

Mitchell Sparrow (Team Pursuit Squad)

Sprint events:
Mitchell Sparrow
Alroy Palm
Bradley Gouveris
Wade Theunissen
Jennifer Abbot

Team Management:
Annerine Wenhold (Team Manager, Tour Organiser & Head Coach)
Martin van Wyk (Assistant Manager & Assistant Endurance Coach)
Tim Abbot (Team Mechanic & Assistant Sprinters Coach)

We have a strong team pursuit squad for our men, and we expect good times from the squad at the event. The team has set its objective towards improvement of the current SA Junior Team Pursuit Record.

Further event to watch out for is the Men’s 1000m TT. Mitch Sparrow set the fastest time in South Africa this year across all racing categories and we expect good results from him.

Congratulations on your selection and we wish you every success.


*Waylin Young has withdrawn from the team as he is participating in Europe in order to secure UCI points (road)

**Ekhard Binding has withdrawn from the team due to illness