Van Niekerk, Matthee claim Pursuit titles at Track Champs, Durban

New national champions have been crowned at the 2014 SA Track and Para-cycling Championships, currently underway at the Cyril Geoghegan Cycle Stadium in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal. The competition is well underway as we enter day three today, on our national Worker’s Day public holiday, culminating on Saturday, 3 May.

Covering all the age group disciplines, the 5-day event has seen the best of South African track cycling take to the outdoor concrete track, close to Durban’s Golden Mile.

The Individual Pursuit events kicked off Tuesday’s proceedings, with several new champions donning the green and gold striped National Champion jersey. Morne van Niekerk (Panda Abantu Academy) and Maroesjka Matthee (Intellibus) won the Elite titles in the 4000m and 3000m Pursuits respectively.

Van Niekerk said: “It’s been a lot of hard work, which has paid off. My coach, Sheldon, and I have targeted this event since October last year and we worked very hard. All the road tours I was able to do have helped me with my endurance and I’m very happy to have won here tonight.”

Theuns van der Bank (Yorkshire Giants) claimed the silver medal, whilst Nolan Hoffman (Team Abantu) settled for bronze. Ilze Bole claimed the Elite Women’s silver medal, with Dalena Nel claiming the bronze medal.

The Junior Men 3000m title went to Stefan de Bod, whilst Monique Gerber (Bestmed ASG) won the Junior Women’s 2000m. Joshua Buchel recorded the second fastest time to claim the silver medal, with Waylin Young claiming bronze. Chante van der Merwe (Hartebeespoort) won the silver medal with Kayla Edwards taking the bronze medal.

Europcar’s Dylan Le Roux stood on the top step of the podium when he won the u16 Men’s Pursuit in 2 minutes 37.36 seconds. Bradley Gouveris finished second, with Joshua van Wyk (Europcar) earning bronze.

Team Abantu cemented their dominance in track cycling as they claimed victory in the Team Pursuit on Wednesday night. James Perry, David Maree, Kellan Gouveris and Nolan Hoffman put on a solid performance in their heat, claiming the gold medals. Silver went to Morne van Niekerk, Joshua Buchel, Steven van Heerden and Dirkie Nel, with Giant CVT’s Theuns van der Bank, Evan Carstens Graeme Ockhuis and Peter Lambert winning the bronze medals.

Track cycling legend and seven-time South African Sprint champion Willie Marx (Eden Cycling Club) won a calculated Sprint race in the 70+ category against local riders Albert Fryer (Jowetts) 2nd, and Adrian Schoeman (Mr Price) 3rd.

Multiple Champion Wendell Bole (LPCC) was the fastest qualifier in the 200m Sprint in the 60-64 category, and a new national record was set by Myrtle Hagedorn (City Cycling Club) in the 200m Sprint qualifier in the Women’s 50-54 category.

The action continues to heat up today as the Para-cycling classes begin their racing today and tomorrow as well. The endurance events will kick in as the Championship continues, with the Points and Scratch races due to start whilst the Sprint and Individual Pursuit events continue amongst the age categories.

For regular updates, visit the South African Track and Para-cycling Championships Facebook page, and visit Cycling South Africa’s Facebook page for more event photos. 

Summary of Results – 2014 SA National Track and Para-cycling Championships – Day 1

Individual Pursuit Final – Elite Men 4000m

1 Morne van Niekerk (Panda Abantu Academy) 4:58.49
2 Theuns van der Bank (Yorkshire Giants)
3 Nolan Hoffman (Team Abantu)

Individual Pursuit Final – Junior Men 3000m

1 Stefan de Bod (FVT Mossaati) 3:38.96
2 Joshua Buchel (Karan Beef)
3 Waylin Young (Cycle World)

Individual Pursuit – Elite Women 3000m

1 Maroesjka Matthee (City Cycling Club) 4:26.58
2 Ilze Bole (Team Computer Smith)
3 Dalena Nel (Panda)

Individual Pursuit Final – Junior Women 2000m

1 Monique Gerber (NMMU) 2:46.24
2 Chante van der Merwe (Hartebeespoort)
3 Kayla Edwards (Jowetts)

Individual Pursuit Final – u16 Men 2000m

1 Dylan le Roux (Europcar) 2:37.36
2 Bradley Gouveris (Walmer Cycling)
3 Joshua van Wyk (Europcar)

Summary of Results – 2014 SA National Track and Para-cycling Championships – Day 2

Team Pursuit Final – Elite Men 4000m

1 Team Abantu 4:39.94
James Perry
David Maree
Kellan Gouveris
Nolan Hoffman

2 Team Gauteng
Morne van Niekerk (Panda Abantu Academy)
Joshua Buchel (Karan Beef)
Steven van Heerden (Team Europcar SA)
Dirkie Nel (Panda Abantu Academy)

3 Giant CVT
Theuns van der Bank
Evan Carstens
Graeme Ockhuis
Peter Lambert