SA Track team in Malaysia for SE Asian GP Series

Cycling South Africa’s Track Commission proudly announces the following riders who have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2014 South East Asian Track Grand Prix Series in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 10-16 May 2014. The series consists of three events and commences on 10 May.

Participation in these events will provide South Africa with an opportunity to qualify its Elite track cycling squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games, and for riders to obtain valuable international racing experience. The team departed from Johannesburg on Wednesday, 7 May and will return on 17 May 2014.

SA National Riders:

Evan Carstens
Kellan Gouveris
Clint Hendricks
HB Kruger
Oupa Maluleke 
Maroesjka Matthee
Theuns van der Bank
Morne van Niekerk

Joshua Buchel
Stefan de Bod
Kyle de Wet
Graeme Ockhuis
Eugene Soule
Waylin Young

Team management
Annerine Wenhold - Tour leader
Sheldon Bole – Endurance Coach and Mechanic
George Stroebel Jnr - Manager, Masseuse and Mechanic

Details of the series
The series will take place on the 333.33m Kuala Lumpur Velodrome in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur.  The series is open to both Elite and Junior riders.

  • 1st South East Asian GP 2014:  10-11 May
  • 2nd South East Asian GP 2014:  13 May
  • 3rd South East Asian GP 2014:  15-16 May

Congratulations on your selection to the South African squad.