Menlopark top of the Spur Schools MTB log


The Spur Schools MTB League is in full swing and early indications are that the league will quickly reach its target for 10 000 entries for the 2015 season. Over 584 riders from 50 Gauteng schools competed in the first event of the Gauteng Spur High School MTB Series presented by Anatomic.

Menlopark High School is top of the log going into the second Spur Schools Mountain Bike League race at FH Odendaal High on Saturday, 25 July. Having logged an impressive, 364 points at the first Gauteng regional event they are confident that they will manage to hold onto their lead spot. Zwartkop High is in second with 223 points, Waterkloof High School in third with 190 points followed by Garsfontein High School in a close fourth with 189 points.

The day was earmarked by exciting racing with strong competition in both the junior women’s and men’s categories.  Rivals Lynette Benson from Waterkloof and Saffron Vosloo from Menlopark matched each other’s pace throughout the race, but in the end Lynette pulled ahead and crossed the line seconds ahead with a huge smile on her face.

The Junior Men’s race gave the crowd another exciting sprint finish between three Menlopark riders and one Centurion HS rider. Throughout the 4 laps, Martien Venter, Henry Liebenberg, Wessel Botha (Menlopark) and Anthony Rennie (Centurion) paced together creating a small gap of around a minute from the strong chasing bunch. However, Martien Venter had his fellow Menlo team mates looking over his shoulder, but Martien kept his pace and beat Henry at the line by just one second for the win!

Special Anatomic leader jerseys were handed out to the first placed boys and girls in each category and they will be wearing them with pride at the next event as Gauteng Series leaders:

  • Sub Junior Boys - Hennie van Wyk (Garsfontein HS)
  • Sub Junior Girls - Monique du Toit (Menlopark HS)
  • Youth 15 Boys - Chris du Plessis (Menlopark HS)
  • Youth 15 Girls - Rimari Sutten (Garsfontein HS)
  • Youth 16 Boys - Nico Marais (Helpmekaar Kollege)
  • Youth 16 Girls - Izelle Greve (Centurion HS)
  • Junior Men - Martien Venter (Menlopark HS)
  • Junior Women - Lynette Benson (Waterkloof HS)

The Spur Tour de Dal presented by Anatomic will be hosted at FH Odendaal on Saturday, 25 July. Registration starts at 07:00 and racing will be open to Gauteng schools only.  Entry fee is R95 and R130 for late entries.  The course opens at 07:30 for training with the first races setting off at 08:15.  Online entries can be done on

Follow The Spur School MTB League on twitter at @SpurMTBleague, facebook SpurSchoolsLeague or

Source: Spur Schools MTB League press release