National Team announcement for ROAD Tour to Europe

Cycling South Africa is proud to announce the following team selected to represent South Africa in Europe for a selection of road cycling races in September 2019.

National Team

  • Joanna van de Winkel

  • Tiffany Keep

  • Carla Oberholzer

  • Maroesjka Matthee

  • Zanri Rossouw

  • Elne Owen

Team Management

  • Kevin Campbell (Manager in Italy)

  • Barry Austin (Manager in France)

The tour to Europe incorporates three cycle races that carry UCI points, which are valuable to add to our nations’ ranking in support of the great number of points that Ashleigh Moolman Pasio has already accumulated by racing in Europe. The tour also creates valuable European racing experience for our predominantly South African based riders. De L’Ardeche in France is one of the first races that Ashleigh competed in in 2009, while most recently, the Giro della Toscana in Italy is where Ashleigh claimed victory in 2018. From the original team selection, Liesel Jordaan has withdrawn and is replaced by Elne Owen, who is currently based in Europe.

Well done on your selection and best of luck in Europe.