National Team announcement for Road World Championships (NOR)

Cycling South Africa announces the National Road Cycling Team that has been selected to participate in the 2017 UCI Road World Championships in Bergen, Norway, from 17 to 24 September.

The blue-ribbon event will kick off with the Team Time Trial, whereby competitors compete as part of their trade team. Thereafter, for the Individual Time Trial and the Road Races, riders will participate in their national colours.

The Time Trial is scheduled to take place in Bergen and surrounding areas, with the Men’s Elite race finishing atop Mount Fløyen. It will be the first time that a World Championship Time Trial finishes on top of a mountain. The climb will be brutal on a 3.4-kilometre stretch with an average gradient of 9.1%.

The Road Races will start in Øygarden and riders and spectators alike will celebrate the Norwegian coastal culture. The highlight of the race is the climb up “Salmon Hill” towards Mount Ulriken.

National Team for the 2017 UCI Road World Championships (NOR)

Elite Men:
Daryl Impey
Reinardt Janse van Rensburg
Jaco Venter
Willie Smit

Stefan de Bod
Nicholas Dlamini
Morne van Niekerk

Elite Women:
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
Heidi Dalton
Chane Jonker

Junior Men:
Devin Shortt
Ryan Terry
Jason Oosthuizen

Junior Women:
Ashleigh Parsons
Tiffany Keep
Elne Owen
Nadia van Niekerk

Heidi Dalton, Jaco Venter, Nicholas Dlamini, Stefan de Bod and Tiffany Keep have withdrawn from the team due to personal reasons.

Cycling South Africa Road Commission Director, Bosseau Boshoff, said: “The World Championship route will suit a rider like Daryl Impey – it is not a climber’s course, but more of a sprinter’s course. When speaking to Robbie Hunter, he explained that the finish is likely to see a big group sprint, as the climbs are not difficult enough to split the race open. We have a strong team here, and every person that we’ve selected will perform well on this type of course.”

Congratulations on your selection and good luck.