Pennypinchers title sponsor for 2015 SA Road Championships (MPU)

Mpumalanga Cycling is proud to announce that Pennypinchers will be the title sponsor of the 2015 SA National Road and Time Trial Championships, taking place in Mbombela from 3-8 February.

Pennypinchers is no stranger to sponsoring some regional cycling events around the country, but this is the first time that the building supplies company will be supporting South Africa’s blue ribbon cycling event.

Pennypinchers serves the construction industry, from residential building supplies to commercial and industrial markets. The company was started in 1981, and has since been incorporated as part of SteinBuild into the JD Group in 2011.

The high-profile cycling championship event is also sponsored by the Mpumalanga Department of Sport and Recreation and will showcase the best aspects of Mbombela’s sights and scenery, tourism and hospitality.

Car rental company, Europcar, is the official car hire sponsor and will also be offering roof racks on their vehicles for those travelling in from outside Mpumalanga. Europcar will provide vehicles for the officials, as well as bakkies to be used as neutral service vehicles during the races.

Hotel group Tsogo Sun has also come on board as a sponsor and will be providing accommodation for the officials during the week. As the official accommodation sponsor for the event, cycling guests can quote these reference numbers when booking their accommodation to ensure that the correct special rate is quoted:

  • Southern Sun Emnotweni Ref no. 181206
  • StayEasy Emnotweni Ref no. 209956

Click here for more information.

All the road cycling categories, incorporating the Elite men and women, U23 men, junior men and women, masters men and women, Para-cycling, tandems and schools will compete along the same routes, with each category racing within their required distances. The Scholars group will race in their age categories (U10, U12, U14) and will be awarded age group trophies and specially-made cycling jerseys, but will not be awarded an SA title.

Online entries are open, click here to enter. Entries for the Time Trial close on Sunday 11 January 2015 at 23:00, while the road race entries will close on Sunday 25 January 2015 at 23:00. No late entries will be accepted.

Please visit the dedicated event web page for further event information, route maps and route profiles:

For any further information, please contact Theo Viljoen on 082 895 5770 or Hendrik Wagener on 082 741 1514.