Exciting Vets racing on penultimate day of National Road Champs, Westville

The Veteran classes put on an exciting day of racing in the penultimate day of the 2014 Time Freight SA Road Cycling Championships in Westville today, Saturday 8 February.

The day started in sunny, hot and humid conditions along the M13 freeway, with the wind picking up and presenting cooler and cloudy conditions just before noon.

In the Veteran Men 40-44 category, Johannesburg’s Chad Short was successful in his break to claim the victory in a time of 4 hours 5 minutes and 31 seconds. “It was very hot, and racing 144km, it was always going to be a long day in the saddle. There was a very strong field with some very strong guys racing today. I found it very hard initially and the climb coming back to the stat/finish was tough. There were a lot of breaks with guys trying to get away, but luckily when I broke at 2 laps to go, they let me go.”

Austin Steyn finished in second place in 04:06:47 with Jacques Fullard taking the bronze medal in 04:07:02.

In the Veteran Women’s 35-39 category, it was Pretoria’s Juanita Venter (Bestmed ASG) that claimed victory in a time of 3 hours 21 minutes and 42 seconds along the 108km distance. “I’d like to thank Durban for hosting a very professional, world-class event. It was a tough course, but very good to test all the riders. I raced here 2 years ago and I knew what to expect. I had an awesome team behind me with fantastic support, and it was just great! It was very hot earlier. I’m gearing up for Slovenia for the Masters’ World Champs at the end of August, and this was good prep for me.”

The silver medal went to Greer Wynn (03:24:20) with Odelle Joubert claiming bronze in 03:25:18.

The Elite, under-23 and junior categories will compete for the National Championship titles tomorrow, with South Africa’s biggest names in cycling competing for top honours. Spectators are welcome. The M13 will be closed to traffic from 45th Cutting, all the way until where the M13 almost meets the N3. Both the eastbound and westbound carriageways will be closed. Cyclists can access the route from 5am.

Full race results for each category are available here. This web link also provides live timing during the race.

Please remember that you can also follow the race live on your mobile by visiting the Finish Time mobi site: sacycling.finishtime.co.za.

Summary of Results – 2014 Time Freight SA Road Cycling Championships (road race)

Veteran Women 30-34 [108km]

1 Anli Smith 03:25:58
2 Meghan Brinkley 03:33:14
3 Lauren Snell 03:33:16

Veteran Women 35-39 [108km]

1 Juanita Venter 03:21:42
2 Greer Wynn 03:24:20
3 Odelle Joubert 03:25:18

Veteran Men 40-44 [144km]

1 Chad Short 04:05:31
2 Austin Steyn 04:06:47
3 Jacques Fullard 04:07:02

Veteran Women 40-44 [108km]

1 Marlene Mathey 03:34:08
2 Adel Jansen van Vuuren 03:34:27
3 Isabel Moolman 03:34:44

Veteran Men 45-49 [144km]

1 Anton Duvenage 04:20:16
2 Alan Henry 04:20:17
3 Bryan Cusack 04:20:24

Veteran Women 45-49 [108km]

1 Brenda Potts 03:34:28
2 Tessa Hesse 03:34:34
3 Lauren Wolff 03:34:46

Veteran Men 50-54 [90km]

1 Jackie van Eeden 02:30:25
2 Hendrik Olivier 02:30:25
3 Gary Beneke 02:30:38

Veteran Women 50-54 [72km]

1 Elizabeth Janse van Rensburg 02:23:30
2 Myrtle Hagedorn 02:27:42
3 Linda Potts 02:28:50

Veteran Men 55-59 [90km]

1 Mark Beneke 02:37:53
2 Paul Furbank 02:37:53
3 Peter Coombes 02:37:54

Veteran Women 55-59 [72km]

1 Hester de Klerk 02:29:26
2 Erna du Toit 02:33:14
3 Karen Bargate 02:38:57

Veteran Men 60-64 [90km]

1 Johan Spies 02:50:48
2 Robert Nefdt 02:51:04
3 Vaughn Cronje 02:51:13

Veteran Women 60-64 [72km]

1 Judith Grove 02:09:26
2 Judith Haley 02:24:39

Veteran Men 65-69 [72km]

1 Kevin Vincent 02:29:27
2 Matthew Gibbs 02:29:27
3 Chris van Vuuren 02:30:07

Veteran Men 70-74 [72km]

1 Maurice Connor 02:24:02
2 Jan van den Berg 02:24:03
3 David Piper 03:18:11

Veteran Men 75-79 [54km]

1 Vincent Kelly 01:58:05
2 Michael Smith 02:09:48
3 Walter Bradford 02:09:49

Veteran Men 80+ [54km]

1 Clive Crawley 02:01:15