SA Para-cycling team announcement for Italian and Spanish World Cups

Cycling South Africa is pleased to announce the South African Para-cycling team that will participate in the UCI road World Cup events to be held in Merano, Italy (7-9 June) and Segovia, Spain (14-16 June, 2013).

The performances of riders who participated in the time trial event at the 2013 National Championships held in Oudtshoorn on 19 April 2013, compared against the published team selection criteria, provided the basis for the team selection. A performance of 90% (and better) relative to the criteria applicable to riders competing in various classes was set by the Team Selection Sub-committee as the cut-off in terms of eligibility for team selection.

A key objective for 2013 is to grow the competitiveness of South Africa’s top-tier Para-cyclists whilst expanding the pool of internationally competitive riders by exposing promising 2nd tier riders to the experience of international competition. This opportunity is enhanced by the fact that UCI nation points are not accrued during 2013, which allows for a degree of ‘experimental development’ through international competitions.

There will be opportunity for other riders to compete for positions in the team that will be entered for the World Championships in Canada, scheduled for August/September 2013.

The team, comprising the riders and support staff listed below, includes current H4 road race World Champion Ernst van Dyk and his Paralympian teammates Stuart McCreadie, Roxy Burns and Gerhard Viljoen. The latter four riders are privileged to have been recently accepted onto SASCOC’s OPEX/NAP programme.

Riders selected to the South African Para-cycling team that will participate in the UCI World Cup events in Italy and Spain, June 2013


Click here to view the Summary of the Para-cycling commission’s strategy implementation plan

The table below indicates those riders who achieved 100% of the SA (team selection) standard, as published in the team selection criteria, and automatically made it into the team for this particular tour. Riders who achieved at least 90% of the SA (team selection) standard filled the rest of the team slots. Note: riders who achieved at least 85% of the standard will be included in Cycling South Africa’s para-cycling development programme (more information about the programme will be published in due course).