National Team announcement for 2017 Tour Ethiopia

Cycling South Africa is proud to announce the National Road Cycling Team that will participate in the 2017 UCI 2.2 Tour of Ethiopia (Tour Meles Zenawi for Green Development) which takes place from Monday 28 August to Saturday 2 September.

The name of the race came about to commemorate the late Ethiopian Prime Minister Meles Zenawi. The Prime Minister was “known for his intelligent leadership and dedication for green development locally and internationally”.

For the Ethiopian Cycling Federation, this is the second continental tour to be hosted in the country, and various nations have been invited to participate in the UCI 2.2 event to make the tour very competitive, while achieving the goal set by the federation to promote green development.

National Team for 2017 Tour of Ethiopia

Willie Smit
Brendon Davids
Clint Hendricks
Rohan du Plooy
Mornay Charles van Heerden

Morne Groenewald

Cycling South Africa’s Road Commission Director, Bosseau Boshoff, said: “It is important that we have a team participating in a UCI African Tour event, and the team that we have selected are the best riders that are currently based in the country.

“We are driving our goal to be the number one team in Africa, and we believe that we are sending a strong team with the best riders that we have.”

The team departs South Africa on Saturday 26 August and returns on Sunday 3 September.

Congratulations on your selection and good luck.