Team Announcement for XCO World Champs – Nové Mēsto (CZE)

Cycling South Africa’s Mountain Bike Commission has great pleasure in announcing that the following riders have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2016 UCI Mountain Bike Cross-Country World Championships at Nové Mēsto na Moravē, Czech Republic, from 29 June to 3 July.

The following riders have been selected according to the 2016 CSA-MTB Selection Criteria:

Elite Men:

Philip Buys
James Reid
Sipho Madolo

Under-23 Men:

Alan Hatherly

Junior Men:

Henry Liebenberg

Junior Women:

Danielle Strydom

Please note that this selection ONLY refers to the 2016 UCI MTB XCO World Championships. The team for the Downhill World Championships will be announced later, as the XCO World Champs takes place two months earlier than the DHI World Champs this year.

As required in our MTB Selection Policy, very strict and objective selection criteria were applied, with data assessed from at least seven designated selection races, as well as taking international performances into account, where applicable. This year, unfortunately no Elite or Under-23 Women met the performance criteria.

Congratulations on your selection and we wish you every success.