National road team announced for Tour of Rwanda (RWA)

Cycling South Africa’s Road Cycling Commission is proud to announce the national team that has been selected to represent South Africa at the 2015 Tour of Rwanda taking place in Kigali, Rwanda, from 15-22 November.

The Rwandan Cycling Federation (FERWACY) is hosting the seventh edition of the Tour of Rwanda, made up of seven stages and one prologue and starting and finishing in Kigali.

Cycling SA Road Commission Director, Bosseau Boshoff, says that a well-balanced team with youth and experience has been selected. HB Kruger is currently South Africa’s highest ranked rider on the UCI Africa Tour and will be out to extend his UCI points tally at the Tour of Rwanda. Willie Smit is carrying some great form at the moment and Carl Bonthuis has recently celebrated two back-to-back victories in his races. Together with James Tennant and Stefan Ihlenfeldt, the young climbers will be prepared to tackle the hilly course that awaits.

National Road Team Tour of Rwanda:

  • Willie Smit
  • Hendrik Kruger
  • James Tennant
  • Carl Bonthuys
  • Stefan Ihlenfeldt

Congratulations on your selection and good luck.