Change to junior national squad for African Continental Championships (RSA)


  Following the withdrawal of Luc Green from the junior squad, the selectors have added the following three riders to make up an 8-man squad:

·       John Vlok

·       Branwill Blaauw

·       Joshua Francis


The 2015 Confederation of African Cycling Road Cycling Championships takes place in Wartburg, KwaZulu-Natal, from 9 to 14 February.

The squad will be whittled down to six riders from the listed squad of eight junior men riders at the SA National Road, Time Trial and Para-cycling Championships from 3-8 February.

It will be the first time that South Africa will be hosting the prestigious African Continental Championships, which has predominantly been hosted by the Northern African countries in the past. Interest in the event has been strong, with 26 African nations entered for the event thusfar.

National Road Team African Continental Road Championships:

Elite and U23 Men
Louis Meintjes
Jacques Janse van Rensburg
Jay Thomson
Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg
Jayde Julius
Kevin Patten
Willie Smith
Clint Hendricks
Dylan Girdlestone
JC Nel

 Elite Women
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
Lise Olivier
Heidi Dalton
Anriette Schoeman
An-Li Kachelhoffer

 Junior Men
Jarrod Hattingh
Waylin Young
Kyle de Wet
Enno Swanepoel
Gregory de Vink

John Vlok
Branwill Blaauw
Joshua Francis

Junior Women
Ame Venter
Frances du Toit
Amy Williams
Jessica Brown
Sabrina van Wyk
Lynette Benson

Congratulations on your selection and good luck.