Track Cycling Squad Selected for World Cup – Manchester (GBR)

In line with Cycling South Africa’s Track Cycling strategy towards the 2014 Commonwealth Games, as well as their 2016/2020 Olympic vision, mission and strategy, the Track Selectors have selected the following athletes as part of their National Track Squad to compete in the first leg of the UCI Track World Cup in Manchester, Great Britain, from 1-3 November 2013.

Men’s Track Sprint

Bernard Esterhuizen
Jeanné Nell
Jean Smith
Kyle Borchjes

Men’s Track Endurance

Nolan Hoffman
Kellan Gouveris
Evan Carstens
Theuns van der Bank
Marco Abrahams
Brandon Christians

Women’s Track Endurance

Maroejska Matthee

As a number of cyclists were out of the country or were unable to attend this past weekend’s track cycling Grand Prix and Interprovincial that was hosted in Cape Town, the final selection will be made during a week-long Track Training Camp commencing Monday 14 October to Sunday 20 October 2013. Thereafter, the team will depart for a further ten-day training camp in Newport, South Wales.

Any cyclist whom would like to be considered as part of the final team selection that will compete in Manchester will need to be present at the October training camp, and must be capable of posting faster times than those cyclists nominated in the above squad, be in possession of a current passport and have a British Visa allowing for departure on Sunday, 10 October. (Terms and conditions apply).