SA Para-cycling Track Team Announced for UCI P1 Track Event (NZL)

The following riders have been selected to represent the South African Para-cycling team to participate in the UCI P1 Track Event to be held in Invercargill, New Zealand from 21 to 24 November 2011.

Each athlete has determined goals, which will assist in building on previous performances with the majority of riders expecting to finish in the top five positions.

Selected team members are aware that the possible selection into the South African team that will participate in the London 2012 Paralympic Games will be based largely on their performance at the UCI Track World championships to be held in Los Angeles in February 2012.

Their New Zealand performance will therefore provide a critical benchmark against which they can gauge their competitiveness relative to the standards set at the 2011 World Championships, and the improvement in these standards that is certain to be reflected at the 2012 World Championships.


Jaco Nel (C2, OPEX)
Janos Plekker (C4, OPEX)
Stephan Herholdt (C4)
Dane Wilson (C5)
Juan Wilken (C3)


Roxy Burns (C4, OPEX)

Team Manager: Elrick Kulsen