SA BMX Riders in Auckland for Worlds

South African BMX riders will be competing in the 2013 UCI BMX World Championships taking place in Auckland, New Zealand from 24 to 28 July.

As per the new UCI qualifying criteria for the elite category, South Africa has qualified two elite men, two junior elite men and one elite woman.

Elite Men

Sifiso Nhlapo
Kyle Dodd

Junior Elite Men

Alex Limberg
Jaden Laubscher

Elite Woman

Teagan O'Keeffe

Dodd, Nhlapo and O’Keeffe have been participating in the World Cups in the early season and would have been fine-tuning their preparations ahead of the championship event.

For Limberg and Laubscher, they are part of the first wave of junior elites to be participating at this year’s Worlds, which will serve as a qualifier for next year’s Youth Olympic Games. They have spent the past week training with National BMX Coach Jonnathan Chislett in Copenhagen, Denmark. Prior to their trip, the youngsters had never been down a Supercross start hill, although they have both competed at worlds before; Limberg in the 16 Expert class and Laubscher in the 17-24 Men class. Both have taken full advantage of the Supercross facility in Denmark in preparation for the world event.

Chislett said, “Both Alex and Jaden seem really happy with their riding. Now that they have had a chance to ride the Supercross start hill and track, we can look forward to a more prepared and confident group of junior men in New Zealand.”

In BMX racing, privateers can race in the World Championships in the Challenge and Cruiser Categories, and a strong SA team will be vying for championship titles in Auckland.

Selected riders

Dylan Eggar
Alex Goncalves
Tyrone Johns
Kai Brett
Alex Dolman
Dylan Whittle
Connor Terblanche
Kane Herbert
Jarod Ellse
Jonnathan Chislett


Kita Uys
Madison Holder
Paton Holder
Amber Muller
Karabo Malemela
Kaiden Keyser
Liam Terblanche
Luca Bollea
Ethan Ellse
Matthew Dinham
Travis Barrett
Ross Eastaugh
Devon De Swardt
Brandon Pratt
Chad Turck
Dirk Uys
Wayne Beadsworth
Frans De Swardt
John Barrett
Peter Eastaugh