Junior women included in the roster for African Continental Champs (EGYPT)

Cycling South Africa is proud to announce that they will be sending a junior women’s team to participate in the 2013 African Continental Championships, which takes place in Sharm Al Sheikh, Egypt, from 29 November to 5 December 2013.

The young women riders will compete in all the road cycling disciplines during the prestigious Championship event, these being the Team Time Trial, Individual Time Trial and the road races.

Cycling South Africa’s Road Commission’s objective is to place greater emphasis on developing women’s cycling in South Africa.

Further to the new additions to the national team, there are also some changes to the men’s lineup. Oupa Maluleki will replace an injured Raynard Butler, and Shaun-Nick Bester will replace Jayde Julius, who is currently ill with a virus.

A change to the management team sees Europcar SA’s Mark van der Merwe replace Hendrik Wagener.

Mr Wagener has received the honour of being invited to be a member of the Commissaires Panel during the 9th African Continental Championships at the end of the month.

National Road Team – 2013 African Continental Champs

Elite Men

Clint Hendricks
Herman Fouche
Oupa Maluleki

Elite Women

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
An-Li Kachelhoffer
Heidi Dalton


Calvin Beneke
Ryan Gibbons
Shaun-Nick Bester
Willie Smit
HB Kruger

Junior Men

Ivan Venter
Jandrich Kotze
Morne van Niekerk
Nicholas Dlamini

Junior Women

Anri Coetzee
Mikayla Oliver
Monique Gerber

Mark van der Merwe – Men’s Manager
Anien Volschenk – Women’s Manager

Congratulations on your selection and good luck.