2013 Mountain Bike XCO and DHI World Champs SA Team Announced (RSA)

Cycling South Africa’s Mountain Bike Commission has great pleasure in announcing that the following riders have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2013 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships, taking place in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa from 26 August to 1 September.

With the World Champs taking place at home, in South Africa this year, it has presented an ideal opportunity for our Elite and Junior riders to experience the atmosphere and racing at world level. As host nation, South Africa is also afforded the benefit of a full quota of seven riders in each category, for both women and men, in the Junior, Under-23 and Elite categories.

In addition, with South African Greg Minnaar as the reigning World Downhill Champion, we are allocated another slot, which allows us to enter eight Elite Men in the Downhill race.

To make full use of this opportunity, Cycling SA’s Mountain Bike Commission has decided to apply a policy of maximum participation, and thus to fill the available entry quota. This was drafted into the team selection policy, as a special dispensation for 2013. However, riders were still assessed on the basis of their performances and commitment in the nominated selection races, and can all be justifiably proud to represent South Africa.

This has resulted in the selection of the biggest team that South Africa has entered in a World Championship. Particularly gratifying is the fact that we have been able to select four development riders to the team for the first time. We wish our riders well, and are confident that living, racing and absorbing this experience will have a positive impact on their lives and their future in the sport.

Cross-country (XCO)

Junior Women

Bianca Haw
Marie-Christin Kempf
Marne Botha
Catherine Colyn
Michelle Benson
Jessica Alcock
Hazel Magill

Under-23 Women

Mariske Strauss
Candice Neethling
Hayley Smith
Ashleigh Moffatt
Sarah Hill
Tayla Odendaal
Rozalia Kubyana

Elite Women

Yolande Speedy
Samantha Sanders
Amy Mcdougall
Cherie Vale
Melanie Palframan
Kim Westbrook
Cherise Stander

Junior Men

Alan Hatherly
Dylan Rebello
Sybrand Strauss
Nicol Carstens
Carlo Marzoppi
Ivan Venter
Louw Kriel

Under-23 Men

Rourke Croeser
James Reid
Luke Roberts
Brendon Davids
Arno Du Toit
Gert Heyns
William Makgopo

Elite Men

Philip Buys
Matthys Beukes
Stuart Marais
Max Knox
Renay Groustra
Ben-Melt Swanepoel
Luthando Fatyi

Downhill (DHI)

Elite Women

Nadia Botha
Kathryn Fourie

Junior Men

Andrew Martin
JP du Plessis
Gregg Brown
Theo Erlangsen
Tian Strooh
Theo Ngubane
Luke Evans

Elite Men

Greg Minnaar
Andrew Neethling
Johann Potgieter
Timothy Bentley
Stefan Garlicki
Tiaan Odendaal
Hayden Brown
Alasdair Fey