2012 Mountain Bike Marathon World Champs SA Team Announced

Cycling South Africa’s Mountain Bike Commission has great pleasure in announcing that the following riders have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2012 UCI Mountain Bike Marathon World Championships, taking place in Ornans, France on 7 October 2012.

The following riders have been selected according to the 2012 CSA-MTB Selection Criteria.


Nico Bell
Kevin Evans
David George
Max Knox


Teresa Ralph
Samantha Sanders
Yolande Speedy

Special Rules for Mountain Bike Marathon Series

4.6.008   Top 20 men and women of each round of the UCI marathon series as well as the top 50 of the individual general marathon series ranking obtain a qualification for the UCI marathon world championships.

Please note that if a rider falls within this special rule, they are entitled to participate at the UCI Mountain Bike Marathon World Championships, however the travel expenses are for their own account and they are obliged to compete in National Federation cycle kit.

All riders must confirm their kit requirement with Dellah Paul by Friday 7 September so that the cycling kit can be ordered. Dellah can be reached by email at dellah@cyclingsa.com, or by mobile on 082 781 5656.