Team announcement for UCI Road World Championships (ESP)

Cycling South Africa’s Road Cycling Commission is proud to announce that the following riders have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2014 UCI Road World Championships taking place in Ponferrada, Spain, from 21-28 September.

Elite Men 

Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg
Jacques Janse van Rensburg
Jay Thomson 

Under 23 

Louis Meintjes
Jayde Julius
Kevin Patten
Willie Smit 

Elite Women 

Ashleigh Moolman Pasio
An-Li Kachelhoffer
Heidi Dalton  

Junior Men 

Gustav Basson
Ivan Venter
Graeme Ockhuis
Stefan de Bod (Non Traveling Reserve) 

Junior Women 

Monique Gerber
Michelle Benson
Catherine Colyn 


Bosseau Boshoff
Kandice Buys

Spain will host the World Championships for the seventh time this year since they were first held in Lasarte (1965), and subsequently in Montjuïc (1973), Barcelona (1984), Benidorm (1992), San Sebastian (1997) and Madrid (2005). Ponferrada, the capital of the region of Bierzo in the North East of the province of Leon, will host the 2014 UCI Road World Championships.

Ponferrada is nestled in the heart of a natural valley with a unique microclimate and surrounded by rocky massifs at the four cardinal points.

For more information on the 2014 UCI Road World Championships, including the programme of events and route distances and profiles, please visit:

Congratulations on your selection and we wish you every success.