National Road team announced for 2014 Mzansi Tour (RSA)


Cycling South Africa is proud to announce the national road cycling team that will be participating in the second annual Mzansi Tour powered by Cathsseta, taking place in South Africa from 8 to 12 April 2014.

The five-day, five-stage event carries a UCI category 2.2 grading and will again host South African and international cycling teams.

The team is as follows

Carl Pasio (Team captain)
Craig Symons
Emile Jacobs
Morne van Niekerk
Wesley Eslick
Chris Jooste

Team Manager

Owen Botha

Assistant Manager and soigneur

Bosseau Boshoff


Casper Bester

Due to most of Cycling South Africa’s Top Clubs being invited by the event to participate, Cycling SA cannot make use of any of these riders for the national team.

The selectors have used this opportunity to invest in our future cyclists by selecting a predominantly under-23 team. The young riders will use the platform of the highly acclaimed UCI category 2.2 event to race together within a team structure.

The 2014 Mzansi Tour will begin with a Prologue in Johannesburg, with Stages 1, 2 and 3 taking place in the Free State Province. The five-day stage race will once again end in Johannesburg.