2014 Youth Olympic Games cycling team announcement

Cycling South Africa congratulates athletes and officials who have been announced by SASCOC (South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee) as part of the youth team that will be participating in the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in Nanjing, China, from 16-28 August 2014.


Alex Limberg, Ivan Venter


Relebohile Pebane, Maia Rawlins

Coach/Code Manager

Tyrone Johns

Further to the athleticism of the Games, the event distinguishes itself from other youth sports events as it integrates a unique Culture and Education Programme (CEP), based around five main themes: Olympism, social responsibility, skills development, expression and well-being and healthy lifestyles.

In the cycling discipline, three gold medals will be awarded at the 2014 Nanjing Youth Olympic Games: for Junior Men (teams of two men) Junior Women (teams of two women) and Junior Mixed Team Relay (teams of two men and two women).

The men and women’s events include five cycling disciplines: BMX, Mountain Bike Cross-country Olympic (XCO), Mountain Bike Cross-country Eliminator (XCE), Road Race and Road Time Trial.

Cycling SA President, William Newman, said: “The Youth Olympic Games is a chance for us to provide our youth with the great opportunity of an Olympic experience – a taster for the big event which each rider should be dreaming of. Congratulations on your selection for the 2014 team.”

For more information on the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games (YOGs) in Nanjing, China, visit the official website: http://www.nanjing2014.org/

Congratulations on your selection and we wish you every success.