Dodd and Rawlins claim Elite BMX titles in thrilling SA Champs

Cycling South Africa crowned national champions in a thrilling session of BMX racing at the 2014 SA BMX National Championships, which took place at Giba Gorge, KwaZulu-Natal, on Saturday 25 October.

Defending champion Kyle Dodd had a successful morning in the Junior/Elite category, winning all his motos leading up to the Mains. Kane Herbert was his closest contender, with 2014 Youth Olympic Games participant Alex Limberg close on his heels.

In the Mains, Dodd made another clean sweep, successfully defending his title as SA National Champion. His strongest rival, Herbert, crashed on the second straight, ruling him out of contention. Second place went to Limberg, with Bryce Stiebel finishing third.

“I got better and better with each moto,” said Dodd, who was elated at sealing the victory. “I’ve been working hard on the gate starts, and I just felt better as the day went on. I had a good start in the Mains and tried to keep it smooth on the track, and I am happy with the win.”

Maia Rawlins, who also attended the 2014 Youth Olympic Games, won all her motos with Stacey Bryant second, and Kayla Eggar third. Rawlins was solid in the Mains, comfortably securing a win on her home track.

“I felt comfortable on the track all day,” said Rawlins. “My training has been going well, and it was great to win on my home track.”

The well-supported championship event saw 162 riders take to the start line to battle it out for top honours across all the age categories. With five Elite women racing, this was the first time that they competed in the “Elite Women” class, earning coveted UCI points.

Sunday’s action

Don't forget you can catch all the BMX racing action again on Sunday for the 2014 UCI African BMX Continental Championships, taking place at Giba Gorge, KwaZulu-Natal. Gate practice starts at 07:45, while the racing heats begin at 09:00. The Finals/Mains are scheduled from 13:00-14:00.


The Non-Elite Categories

The Mains kicked off with the 6 and Under Boys. Caleb Limberg took the victory after finishing 3rd, 2nd and 3rd in his motos. Salvador Cronje finished second with Deagan McCallum third. The 7 Boys race saw Andrew Posthumus win all his motos, carrying his winning form through to Mains to claim the national title. Braden Schutte finished second with Lee Singh in third place. The 8 Boys category saw Ryan Lemmer finish in straight sets, winning all his motos and the final on the day. Luc O’Brien was second, with Karabo Malemela third.

Evan Fouche claimed the victory in the 9 Boys class ahead of Kaiden Keyser and Marco Kremer, who finished in second and third places respectively. Joshua Wright won the 10 Boys category, with Carson Norman and Jonathan Duarttee in second and third places respectively.

In the 11 Boys race, Ethan Goveia claimed his national title winning all of his races on the day. Andrew Kilian was second and Nicholas Mgwenya, third. The 12 Boys race was closely contested with World No.3 Connor Terblanche proving strongest on the day. Kai Brett settled for second place with Tristan de Villiers third.

Jarod Ellse claimed the national title in the 13 Boys class; second was Tyrone Verral with Cameron Turck third. Alex Dolman secured victory in the 14 Boys category with Sukadeva Shanker second and Jason O’Shea third.

The final two Boys’ categories were closely contested. Multiple champion Dylan Eggar nailed his motos, and the Final, to claim yet another title with local star Manqoba Madida second and Taine Banbrough third. Brandon Pratt was dominant in the 16 Boys race, while Dylan Heubner came second and Zweli Siluma third.

The two Men’s Challenge classes followed. First up, the 17-24 Men saw Bryan O’Shea nail his Final run while Lloyd Dodd finished second and Jonathan Brett third. The 25 and Over class saw World No.1 and local rider Tyrone Johns dominante the field with Byron Robertson second and Kelvin Purchase third.

The young girls took to the track in three different classes. First up was the 8 and Under Girls class with five girls competing. Kyla Uys had a clean run to claim the victory with Melissa Robertson second and Savanna Cosgrave third. The 9-12 Girls class saw a full house of eight riders take to the start gate, with Kaylin Smith securing the national title ahead of World No.8 Kita Uys. Delia Greyling finished in third place. The final class was the 13-15 Girls, with Lauren Coetzee securing first place, Amber Muller second and Georgina Grassie third.

The 40 and Over Men Cruiser class saw Michael Fikkert claim the victory in a tight finish with Colin Menges and World No.6 William Jackson finishing second and third respectively.

World No.2 Tyrone Johns was dominant in the 30-39 Men Cruiser race, comfortably freewheeling on the last straight to retain his national title. Dirk Uys finished second and Patrick Kreutzner crossed the line in third place.

In the Men 16-29 Cruiser class, six riders took part with Brandon Pratt claiming the victory and the SA Champs title. Darryn Stow finished second and Kelvin Purchase third.