BMX Worlds all set to kick off this evening in Rotterdam (NED)

South Africa’s BMX squad is settling in well in Rotterdam as they near the official start of the 2014 UCI BMX World Championships, in The Netherlands, from 23-27 July.

In BMX racing, the selected national team riders as well as privateers are able to attend for the chance to obtain their World Number.

The UCI has reported that a “record 2841 participants have announced their presence across the Challenge and Junior / Elite categories. They represent 41 countries, the highest number of countries since Birmingham (GBR) in 2012 when the 2204 participants represented 38 countries.”

Feedback from the South African team is that yesterday’s first training session went well, with the riders loving the track. The second training session took place during the course of today. The official opening ceremony takes place this evening from 18:15-18:35, and will be followed by the first round of competition for the 17-years and over Challenge Class riders, from 18:45-22:30.

On behalf of Cycling SA and South African BMX fans and supporters, we wish Paige Muller, Themba Hlope, Bryce Stiebel, Godfrey Buziba, Kane Herbert, Wayne Beadsworth, Michael Fikkert, William Jackson, Tyrone Johns, Tim O’Brien and Dirk Uys the best of luck for their heats tonight. Keep it safe and we hope that you achieve your goals!

The full list of attendees, including privateers, for the 2014 BMX Worlds squad is listed as follows:

Wayne Beadsworth
Godfrey Buziba
Marco Cherti
Lauren Coetzee
Salvador Cronje
Alex Dolman
Ross Eastaugh
Peter Eastaugh
Dylan Eggar
Jarod Ellse
Ethan Ellse
Michael Fikkert
Ethan Goveia
Kane Herbert
Themba Hlophe
William Jackson
Tyrone Johns
Gareth Kaschula
Karabo Malemela

Manqoba Madida
Amber Muller
Paige Muller
Luc O'Brien
Tim O'Brien
Brandon Pratt
Francois Smith
Kaylin Smith
Bryce Stiebel
Hannah Stiebel
Connor Terblanche
Dirk Uys
Kita Uys
Tyrone Verrall
Kyle Dodd
Maia Rawlins
Alex Limberg
Teagan O'Keeffe
Sifiso Nhlapo