Para-cycling has been officially administered by the UCI since an agreement to transfer governance of the discipline from the International Paralympic Committee was signed on 7 February 2007. This discipline is divided into road and track races for a total of seven events.

• Road race (men and women)
• Individual time trial (men and women)
• Handcycling relay

• Tandem sprint (men)
• Team sprint (men and women, mixed event)
• 500 m time trial (men and women) or kilometre time trial (men and women)
• Individual pursuit (men and women)

The UCI defines functional categories for men and women of all ages. Riders are allocated to the appropriate category depending on their functional capacity.

The competitions comprise four groups of handicaps (blind and visually impaired riders, people with cerebral palsy, locomotor disabilities and handcycling) and a total of 14 functional categories for men and women in all the age categories defined by the UCI. Riders are placed in the appropriate category in the light of their functional capacity.

The main events are the World’s Championships (since 1994), the Paralympic Games and the World Cup (since 2010).

* All information as per the UCI website:

Commission Details

Para-cycling Commission Director: Dr Mike Burns

National Coach: Elrick Kulsen

Development Manager: JC van der Walt

High performance monitoring and administration team: Tom Paulsen

Assistant Director, Track: Sheldon Bole

Regional Commissioners:
Western Cape: Dr Mike Burns
Eastern Cape: Yster Xatasi Northern Cape: Rodwick January
Free State: Rudi Kuhn
KZN: Braam Mouton
North West: Andries Scheepers
Mpumalanga: Dinie Wagener
Limpopo: Lionel Smith
Gauteng: Dane Wilson

To arrange a commissaire for your event, please contact Elrick Kulsen