The first mountain bike competitions were held in California (USA) in the early eighties. Since then the discipline has grown very fast, in all aspects. The first World Championships to be officially recognized by the UCI dates back to 1990. A World Cup was set up the following year.


CROSS-COUNTRY (part of the Olympic programme)
Cross-country races are held over undulating circuits (with technical descents, forest roads, rocky paths and obstacles) of 5 to 9 km. The race varies from 1 h 45 minutes to 2 h 30 minutes depending on the category.

The marathon event is a long version of cross-country held over a course of 60 to 120 km. A special feature is that riders from all categories, from enthusiasts to professionals, race together. The marathon event is held in a mountainous region. In contrast to the Olympic cross-country format, the riders never pass the same point twice.

Downhill (also referred to as DHI) is a race against the clock in which the rider negotiates a succession of fast and technical passages. The participant must demonstrate courage as well as sharp technical and piloting skills in order to affront tree roots, banked sections, bumps, jumps and other natural obstacles along the way. Speeds reach around 80km/h in the men’s races and 70km/h for women.

In four-cross (often abbreviated to “4-cross” or “4X”), four participants set off together to ride down a track that alternates banked corners and jumps. The races are very rapid (between 30 seconds and one minute) and give rise to fierce and closely contested confrontations between the riders. The winner is the first to cross the finish line. The four-cross races take place over several qualifying rounds.

All information as per the UCI website: http://www.uci.ch/mountain-bike/about/

Commission Details

Mountain Bike Commission Director: Brett Coates

Administration: Dellah Paul

Convenor of Selectors: Grevile Ruddock
High Performance: Dennis Jackson
XCO Specialist: Greg Stedman
DHI Specialist: Riaan du Preez
XCM Specialist: Mark Meyer
PDI Representative: Siphamandla Ndhlovu
Women Representative: Amy-Jane Mundy

Regional Commissioners:
Western Cape: Shani Morton
Western Cape - Eden: Corne Botha
Eastern Cape - PE: Graeme Daly
Eastern Cape - EL: Gerhard Spies
KwaZulu-Natal: Ian Smith
North West: Sias le Roux
Mpumalanga: Sandy Korb
Limpopo: Heine de Jager
Gauteng: Shahad Khan
Free State: Keith Wilson

To arrange a commissaire for your event, please contact Martin Fourie.