Cycling South Africa Announces Team for UCI World Championships in Glasgow, Scotland.

Cycling South Africa is proud to announce the team selected to represent the country at the upcoming UCI World Championships in Scotland. The 2023 UCI Cycling World Championships will host thirteen disciplines and will be the biggest ever cycling event. We will be represented in nine of the disciplines taking place from 3-13 August 2023.

With our improved financial position, Cycling SA is this year able to financially support our Junior, U/23 and elite athletes from the day that they are scheduled to arrive in Scotland until the completion of their events.  Qondisa Ngwenya, President of Cycling SA said: “We have not been in this position for many years where we could support our athletes, to the extent we are able to this year.  Although the riders will need to make their own way to and from Scotland, we are proud of the progress we have made as a federation to support our athletes by providing them with accommodation, local transportation, and team staff to ensure that they can focus on their performance without the added burden of excessive financial strain.”

We are confident in the abilities of our team and believe that their participation will inspire future generations of cyclists and contribute to the growth of the sport within our country.

We wish our team the best of luck in Scotland. We know that they will represent South Africa with pride, determination, and sportsmanship. Let us rally behind them as they take on the world and make their mark in the cycling arena.

Team qualifications and selections are based on the rankings of 30 May 2023 and is subject to final quota approvals of the UCI which will only be released on 21 June.



Elite Men:                                                                  

  • Daryl Impey (Road)
  • Ryan Gibbons (Road and ITT)                        
  • Stefan de Bod (Road and ITT)                        
  • Morne Van Niekerk (Road)                                                                           
  • Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (1st Reserve)   
  • Alan Hatherly (2nd Reserve)                                     

Elite and U/23 Women:

  • Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Road)
  • Tiffany Keep (Road)
  • Hayley Preen  (Road)
  • Frances Janse Van Rensburg (Road)
  • Zanri Rossouw (Road and ITT)
  • Maude Le Roux (Road)
  • Lize-Ann Louw (1st Reserve)
  • Kerry Jonker (2nd Reserve)

U/23 Men:

  • Travis Stedman (Road)
  • Dillon Geary (ITT and Road 1st Reserve)
  • Tiano da Silva (2nd Reserve)
  • Damon Fouche (3rd Reserve)
  • Luke Moir (4th Reserve)

Junior Men:                                                               

  • Jose Kleinsmit (Road and ITT)                                                
  • Ryno Schutte (Road and ITT)
  • Matthew Symm (1st Reserve)

Junior Women:

  • Annika Visser (Road)



  • Pieter du Preez (Road, ITT)
  • Goldy Fuchs (Road, ITT)

Mountain Bike Cross Country Olympic

Elite Men:                                                                  

  • Alan Hatherly                                                            
  • Philip Buys

Elite Women:

  • Candice Lill


U/23 Men                                                                  

  • Johan Van Zyl                                                 
  • Luke Moir
  • Matthew Scott
  • Unathi Nxumalo
  • Jaedon Terlouw

U/23 Women

  • Tyler Jacobs

Junior Men:                                                               

  • Ernest Roets                                                              
  • Massi Ambrosi
  • Omar Wilson


Junior Women:

  • Lilian Baber


Mountain Bike Marathon

Elite Men:                                                      

  • Matthew Beers                                              
  • Tristan Nortje                                    
  • Marco Joubert                                   
  • Arno Du Toit
  • Michael Foster
  • Luyanda Thobigunya
  • Kusaselihle Ngidi
  • Matthew Scott

Elite Women:

  • Sarah Hill
  • Candice Lill

Mountain Bike Downhill

Elite Men:                                                      

  • Greg Minnaar                                    
  • Johann Potgieter                                           
  • Theo Erlangsen
  • Connor Finnis

Elite Women:

  • Sabine Thies
  • Frances Janse Van Rensburg

Junior Men:                                                   

  • Ross Kew                                                        
  • Keagan Brand 

Junior Women:

  • Jenna Byrnes
  • Danika Botha

BMX Racing

Men Elite:                                                                                                                                                          

  • Manqoba Madida
  • Tyler Klumper

Women Elite:   

  • Miyanda Maseti

BMX Challenge Class:

  • Tate Barnard 
  • Rylee Van Heerden 
  • Matthew Fulton 
  • Deagan McCallum
  • Andrew Posthumus
  • Tyler Thompson
  • Brandon Pratt

BMX Freestyle


  • Vincent Leygonie           


  • Jenna Byrnes

The Track Cycling qualification and selection process is still ongoing and will be announced once finalized.

For the Gran Fondo, riders who have qualified and are eligible to enter will receive an email directly from the UCI, but can also contact Cycling SA for information.  All riders who will be representing South Africa will be announced once finalized.

About Cycling South Africa: Cycling South Africa is the national governing body for cycling in South Africa. Our mission is to promote, develop, and govern the sport of cycling at all levels within the country. We work towards creating opportunities for athletes to excel and represent South Africa on the international stage.

 For more information on the 2023 UCI World Championships, visit l2023 UCI Cycling World Championships | Glasgow and across Scotland (cyclingworldchamps.com)



Miyanda Maseti

Road Miyanda Maseti Tiffany Keep is a road cyclist that will be representing South African at the 2024 Paris Olympic Games.  nini@ninisnetwork.com Facebook Instagram Name: 

Read More »

Alan Hatherly

Road Ashleigh Moolman- Pasio Ashleigh is a professional Road Cyclist and two-time Olympian. Rocacorba Cycling | Accommodation and Bike Rental Facebook Instagram Name:  Ashleigh Surname: 

Read More »

Candice Lill

Road Ashleigh Moolman- Pasio Ashleigh is a professional Road Cyclist and two-time Olympian. Rocacorba Cycling | Accommodation and Bike Rental Facebook Instagram Name:  Ashleigh Surname: 

Read More »


Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter