The CyclingSA MTB Commission has been hard at work and is excited to announce the details of the 2021 Southern Africa XCO Cup Series, a full calendar of UCI categorised events following the limited event schedule of 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The SA XCO Cup Series is a national series that gives Southern African riders more opportunity than ever to score valuable UCI points in South Africa, and CyclingSA would like to thank the host provinces and event partners who have made this series possible.

2021 introduces some amazing new venues to the XCO calendar with the addition of Waterberg in Limpopo, and Iron Throne Bike Park in Hartbeespoort.

The Hartbeespoort event will be run in a traditional mountain-biking race format that will give riders the opportunity to experience various different formats of MTB racing with XCO, Enduro and Downhill all taking place over the same weekend.

Date                      Event                          Venue UCI Category       

30 January          SA XCO Cup #1         Thaba Trails, Johannesburg CAT 1     

6 March               SA XCO Cup #2         Waterberg, Limpopo CAT 2 as well as a UCI Junior World Series event

17 April                SA XCO Cup #3         Stellenbosch, Western Cape CAT 2     

22 May                SA XCO Cup #4         Iron Throne MTB Park, Hartbeespoort  CAT 2

19 June               SA XCO Cup #5        Happy Valley, Bloemfontein CAT 2 as well as a UCI Junior World Series event

The Nippers and Sprogs age categories will still be catered for at every event on the 2021 Series calendar, however, the results will not contribute towards a National Series ranking. Start seedings for these categories will be determined by drawing a number at each event.  

For entry information as well as a host of valuable information, including the SA MTB Selection Policy, and MTB Handbook, please visit the Cycling South Africa website.


The Southern African XCO Cup Series caters for racers of all ages, subdivided into the following categories:

  • Sub Junior (13-14 years old) – CyclingSA Membership required
  • Youth (15-16 years old)      – CyclingSA Membership required
  • Masters (30+)                                  – CyclingSA Membership required
  • Junior (17-18 years old)                 – CyclingSA Membership plus UCI Race Licence required
  • Elite (19+ years old)                        – CyclingSA Membership plus UCI Race Licence required
  • Sports Class (Any age)                  – CyclingSA Day Licence required
  • eBike Class (Any age)                    – CyclingSA Day Licence required       

The Sports Class caters for both development riders as well as non-CyclingSA members, with participants able to purchase a day licence at the time of registration.

There is also an eBike category offered by some race organisers. Please check if your event offers this race as this is not a standard category across the series.

SA XCO Cup Series Points

Participants racing in the Sub Junior, Youth, Junior, Elite, Masters and Development categories will earn series points for their positions achieved, and all five races will count towards the 2021 Series points log to determine the Series winners.

CyclingSA National XCO Ranking

Points earned in the Series will also contribute towards the official CyclingSA XCO Rankings, which will be derived from:

  • National Series races         100% of points earned
  • Provincial Series races       50% of points earned

Points earned by the UCI Junior and Elite athletes also count towards their UCI World ranking, which determines their start grid position at the UCI World Cup events, and any UCI-sanctioned races.

For more information on CyclingSA memberships and UCI licences, click here.


In addition to the Southern African XCO Cup Series, the 2021 South African National XCO Championships will be held in Pietermaritzburg on 10 and 11 July and does not form part of the 2021 XCO Cup Series. 

10 – 11 July: CyclingSA XCO National Championships,  Cascades MTB Park, Pietermaritzburg

All National Championship events are one-off events where the National Champions of each category are decided and awarded with a race jersey for the following 12 months. These events are available exclusively to citizens of South Africa, and a UCI race license is required for participation.


This is an international race series open to all Junior riders with a UCI race licence.  

Date                      Competition                                       Venue, Country 
27 – 28 Feb           Copa Catalana Internacional BTT           Banyoles, ESP
28 Feb                    Puerto Rico MTB Cup                            Rincón, PUR  
06 Mar                   SA XCO Cup Series                                Limpopo, RSA
12 – 14 Mar           MTB French Cup                                    Marseille, FRA
14 Mar                  US Cup – Vail Lake                                  Temecula, USA
21 Mar                  Tropical Mountain Bike Challenge        Salinas, PUR
02 – 03 Apr           Namibia XC 1                                         Windhoek, NAM
09 – 11 Apr           2# Internazionali d’Italia Series               Nalles, ITA
17 – 18 Apr           Ötztaler Mountainbike Festival               Haiming, AUT
24 – 25 Apr           Heubacher Mountainbikefestival            Heubach, GER
30 Apr-01 May     SoHo Bike Fest                                       Midway, USA
01 May                 Maja Wloszczowska MTB Race             Jelenia Góra, POL
08 May                 Albstadt                                                   Albstadt, GER
15 May                 Englewood Open                                    Fall River, USA
14 – 16 May         Nové Město na Moravě                          Nové Město, CZE
22 – 23 May         Coupe du Japon MTB                             Yawatahama City, JPN
29 May                Mackay Cup – Round 1                           MacKay, AUS
29 – 30 May         Crossroads Canada Cup                        Mont Tremblant, CAN
30 May                Mackay Cup – Round 2                           MacKay, AUS
04 – 06 Jun           Baie-Saint-Paul Canada Cup                 Baie Saint-Paul, CAN
19 Jun                   SA XCO Cup Series                                Bloemfontein, RSA
19 Jun                   Canmore Canada Cup                              Canmore, CAN
19 – 20 Jun            PROFFIX Swiss Bike Cup        Gränichen, SUI
26 – 27 Jun            5# Internazionali d’Italia Series              La Thuile, ITA
26 – 27 Jun            Copa Internacional MTB São Paulo, BRA
15 Aug                 Kentville Canada Cup                             Nova Scotia, CAN
21 – 22 Aug          PROFFIX Swiss Bike Cup Basel             Basel, SUI

More information on the UCI Junior World Series here.


Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter