2018 Jack Cheetham & Letsema Awards nominations are now open

Murray & Roberts, in partnership with the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC), is pleased to invite nominations for the 2018 Jack Cheetham & Letsema Awards.

About the awards

Jack Cheetham Memorial Award

The Jack Cheetham Memorial Award was initiated by Murray & Roberts 38 years ago in recognition of the special qualities of Jack Cheetham, a former director of the company and the inspirational captain of the South African cricket team in the 1950s.

The award recognises and rewards development projects with individuals or teams that have the potential to be champions. The Jack Cheetham Award is presented annually, to projects that the selection panel believes have contributed most to development in their sporting codes in South Africa and that represent the qualities of leadership and excellence.

Letsema Award

The Letsema Award was launched in 2009 to recognise development projects for sports people with disabilities. It is also presented annually to projects that demonstrate the qualities of leadership, excellence and commitment, for the benefit of people with disabilities.

Criteria for selection

To be eligible for nomination, a sports project must demonstrate a meaningful contribution to the development of sport in South Africa and must benefit previously disadvantaged individuals.

Nominations in all sporting codes are considered but preference is given to sporting codes that do not attract high levels of funding.

Factors such as sports excellence, inspirational leadership and future sustainability are important criteria.

Organisations that that have previously won the first prize in either category may only be nominated again in the year after they receive their fi­nal payment.


The value of the 2018 awards will be allocated as follows, for both the Jack Cheetham & Letsema Award:

  • Winner >>> R500 000 over five years
  • Runner-up >>> R150, 000 over three years
  • 2nd Runner-up >>> R 75, 000 over two years

For more information about the awards visit www.jclawards.co.za.

Download the nomination form.

Closing date: 19 June 2018

Photo title: In 2016, CODAH Cycling Club received the Second runner Up prize of R75000 after they were recognised for getting children from impoverished communities in Hammarsdale onto bicycles and instilling important life skills and values into their young lives.
Photo credit: Unknown



Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter