2017 African Continental Track Championships

20-24 March 2017

Date: Monday 20 to Friday 24 March 2017
Province: KwaZulu-Natal
Location: Cyril Geoghegan Velodrome

Congratulations to all participants and to all new African Champions!

Contact Person: Hylton Belitzky

The 2017 African Continental Track cycling Championship will be hosted by KZN Track Cycling and take place at the Cyril Geoghegan Velodrome in Durban from 20-24 March. The track was built in the early 80's. It was built in memory of the late Cyril Geoghegan, a stalwart of cycling in the1960's. The 333m, 42° banked track has played host to many national and international track events.



The 2017 African Track Championships will be held from 20 to 24 March
2017 at Cyril Geoghegan Cycling Track, Durban, Kwa-Zulu Natal, South Africa.

Who can take part

The Championships are open to National teams, UCI registered teams, Provincial Teams and
Club teams. Provincial and Club entries will require the endorsement of their Provincial
Coach/Selector before their entries are accepted. 

Team Events

All Nations are encouraged to enter teams for the team pursuit and team sprint events,
but entries will be accepted from provincial, sponsored and club teams,
with the Nation having first call on their respective riders.






Mass Start Events

All mass start events will be limited to 36 starters (20 teams for the Madison). No heats will be held for mass start events. National team entries will have priority in the event of maximum allowable entries being exceeded.

Women’s events

Depending on entries the junior women’s mass start events could be combined with the elite women’s events. In this case only second year juniors will be eligible to score UCI ranking points.


The maximum participation per team shall be the following:


See map below.


Provisional Event schedule