CyclingSA is honoured and privileged to be nominated for the 2021 Momentum gsport Awards, together with Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Ainsli de Beer and Miyanda Maseti.

The gsport initiative, started by Kass Naido in 2005, highlights the performance of women and girls in the sporting industry, and the annual Momentum gsport Awards ensures that women’s contribution to sport, as participants and as facilitators, is recognised and celebrated.


CyclingSA is nominated for Federation of the Year for a sports federation that has made the greatest strides to grow women’s sport commercially and include women in leadership positions.

“Traditionally, sports administration is under-represented by women, with not many Federations having appointed women into top leadership positions. For this reason, I am very proud to hold the position of President of CyclingSA, and I am focused on driving representation of women and race equity at an executive level and throughout the sport,” said Ciska Austin, President of CyclingSA.

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio is nominated for the Sasol Global Woman in Sport award. This new award seeks to honour a woman who is impacting sport globally and going the extra mile to put women’s sport on the map internationally.

Ashleigh needs no introduction after her performances at the Tokyo Olympic Games, where she stole the hearts of South Africa by racing to a gutsy 13th place in the Road Race and 8th in the Individual Time Trial. Widely regarded as the Queen of Cycling in SA, Ashleigh fittingly won the Queen’s stage in the Giro d’Italia Donne in July and looks to end her 2021 season off with an even higher note at the Road World Championships in September.

Ainsli de Beer is nominated in the category  Emerging Athlete of the Year as an emerging sportswoman over 18 years old, who has excelled at a national & provincial level during the year. This category honours the rising stars to inspire them to sporting greatness.

Ainsli displayed grit and determination at the 2021 African Continental Championships, winning medals in both the road and track events. Hailing from KZN, this 18-year-old continues to impress in the road, mountain bike and track disciplines, and we have no doubt that she is a star of the future.

And last but not least, Miyanda Maseti is nominated for School Sports Star as a young girl in sport 18 years or under, who has excelled athletically. She is seen as a role model to the youth and is on her way to greatness. 

Miyanda, the 16-year-old BMX prodigy hailing from the Eastern Cape, is a three-time South Africa BMX champion and will be representing South Africa at the 2021 UCI BMX World Championships in the Netherlands later this month. “My target is to make the final this year because I’ve been so close in previous years. I came 5th in the semi at the 2019 World Championships, and you need 4th to make the finals. If I make it into the finals, I will give it my all to win.” Said the tenacious and confident Maseti.


Public voting is open at, and registered users are granted three votes per day. CyclingSA encourages all cycling fans to show their support and cast their votes as often as possible for the stars of Cycling in South Africa.

Voting closes at midnight on Thursday, 12 August, and the premiere of the annual Momentum gsport Awards will be broadcast on SuperSport on Tuesday, 31 August 2021.

Register a free account with gsport4girls here & show your support by voting for our cycling stars.

More information on the voting process can be found here.


Ryan Gibbons

ROAD RYAN GIBBONS Elite Men’s National Team Member.  Facebook Instagram Name:  Ryan  Surname:  Gibbons D.O.B 1994/08/13 Current Team/Sponsor: Lidl Trek Place of birth: Johannesburg, GP

Read More »

Miyanda Maseti

BMX MIYANDA MASETI Elite BMX National Team Member. Instagram Name:  Miyanda Surname:  Maseti D.O.B 2005/07/26 Current Team/Sponsor: Leatt & Pho3nix Place of birth: Ugie, EC

Read More »

Alan Hatherly

MOUNTAIN BIKE ALAN HATHERLY Elite Men’s Mountain Bike National Team Member, Rio 2026, Toykyo 2020 Olympian Facebook Instagram Name:  Alan Surname:  Hatherly D.O.B 1996/03/15 Current

Read More »


Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter