CyclingSA Membership and Licensing Policy

Membership 2013


Cycling South Africa is proud to announce that our online licensing system has been updated and improved to assist members to renew their membership and domestic racing licenses. For the third year running, Cycling SA will not be changing the cost of the membership and/or domestic racing license. This is due to a sustained increase in the number of registered members for 2013.  Our membership grew to 27,622 from 12,266 over the same period in 2012. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you, as our members, in investing back into your sport. You have received a report from our Financial Trustee, and can see how the application of this income is made.


Click here to review the report 


The online system has had some further enhancements made, in that we have now included an EFT facility through the SID platform, to reduce the inconvenience of having to log out and then do the EFT from your bank account, as well as some further enhancements to ensure that our staff can be used more effectively in providing improved value to members.


License structure explained


Full Racing License

This category of license is for riders from the age of 17-years-old who wish to be eligible for provincial and national selection and respective colours award. The bearer of a full license is entitled to partake in national championship or series race and be seeded accordingly. Those of who race in the UCI categories (Junior, U23 and Elite) earn UCI points, which will assist them in being seeded at future UCI category events, world cups and championships. The cost of a full racing license is R350 per year, and the applicant has to be member of an affiliated club, as well as be a registered member of Cycling SA. These can be done simultaneously.



A membership of Cycling SA costs R75.00 per year. A membership holder is entitled to enter any event, irrespective of discipline, without having to purchase a day license. A member is allowed to participate in a national series event, but will not be eligible for national or provincial selection. A membership of Cycling SA is the most basic form of license and is an agreement of the rider to abide by the rules of the event in which they participate.


Day License

The Day-license is designed to allow the absolute newcomers of the sport to participate within the rules and regulations of the sport. These participants, who do not hold a full license or membership, need to purchase a day license. By purchasing a day license the rider agrees to participate in the event and abide with the rules of the event and those of Cycling SA for that day. A day license costs R35.00 and is only valid for one day.


Provincial levy

Some provinces charge an additional levy to assist with the development and running of the provincial structures. These levies vary from province to province. Your province, which is made up of the clubs, will provide the information as to what and how these funds are utilised within your province, as these are determined by the input from clubs at regional and provincial meetings.


The various province’s levies are listed below:

Gauteng Central --> R75

Gauteng North --> R35

KwaZulu-Natal --> R35

Free State --> R75

Eastern Province --> R50

North West --> R75

Limpopo --> R75

Mpumalanga --> R25

Northern Cape --> R50

Southern Gauteng --> R30


Road Cover

The current road cover available on the Cycling SA website, is a non-compulsory purchase, and is not a form of insurance. It is a fee whereby Road Cover will facilitate claims for any injuries during training and racing, against the Road Accident Fund.


All 2013 licenses remain valid until 31 December 2013, and any new applications for 2014 will be considered as members for the remaining 3 months of 2013.


To purchase or renew your membership/license for 2014, simply click on and select the membership option. Membership opens on Friday 27 September 2013.



:: SEARCH ::
Telephone Number:
+27 21 917 1736

Fax Number:
+27 21 917 1749

Physical Address:
3rd Floor, Skyscape Terraces,
DJ Wood Way,
Bellville Business Park, 7535

Postal Address:
P O Box 167, Bellville, 7535

Office Hours:
Mon – Fri
08h00 – 16h30
William Newman (President), Hendrik Wagener (Vice President), Pieter Herbst (Financial Trustee)

Executive Members:- Shahad Khan (Gauteng-Interim), Heine De Jager (Limpopo), Theo Viljoen (Mpumalanga), George Stroebel (Free State), Greg Stedman (KwaZulu-Natal) Yster Xastasi (Eastern Cape), Robert Thomas (Northern Cape), Pieter Aucamp (North West), Corné Bence (Western Cape), Lise Olivier (Rider Representative) Associate Members; (USSA) Etienne Joubert, (SASC) Deon Steyn

Management Committee;- Johan Smith (Track), Brett Coates (MTB), Hendrik Wagener (Road - Interim), Margot Gerber (BMX), Mike Burns (Para), (Coaching-Vacant), Rudi van Wyk (Technical) Corné Bence (Recreation), George Stroebel (Youth, Transformation & Development), Pieter Aucamp (Disciplinary), Craig Proctor-Parker (Events Safety & Security)

Affiliated to:- International Cycling Union (UCI) / African Continental Confederation (CAC) / South African Sport Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC)