Cycling SA Welcomes New Road Commission Members

Cycling South Africa is thrilled to announce the addition of new members to the Road Commission. We are excited to welcome Brandon Downes as Rider Representative, Sonja Schultz as Women’s Commissioner, and Jannie Schoeman as Vets/Masters Commissioner. Their contributions will help shape the future of road cycling in a positive direction.

Let’s get to know our new Road Commission members:

Sonja Schultz

Sonja resides in Oudtshoorn and has been an active member of the Oudtshoorn Cycling Club Committee for the past six years, including two years as Chair. She has also been the secretary for Eden EXCO and Western Cape Cycling for the past three and two years, respectively. Sonja’s expertise in management and administration has played a crucial role in the success of cycling in the Eden and Western Cape regions.

She has served as Chief Manager for the Eden and Western Cape cycling teams on various occasions, as well as managing the teams at district, provincial, and national levels. Sonja was also involved in organizing the SA Elite Road and TT Championships held in Oudtshoorn in February 2023 and has been a key part of the Youth Festival and Timbercity Cycle Tour. Additionally, Sonja is a member of the Gender Commission of the Western Cape Sport Confederation.

Sonja’s diverse experience includes managing the Eden Cycling and Western Cape Cycling teams (track) during the SA Track Championships in 2021, 2022, and 2023. She also assisted Corné Bence as an assistant manager at the African Continental Track Championships in Egypt in 2020. Sonja travelled to Belgium in 2019 to support her daughter and work alongside Glen Bonthuys. She is currently serving as a manager and Designated Safeguarding Officer for the SA Track team at AFCON in Egypt in January 2024.

Brandon Downes

Brandon is a dedicated, self-motivated, and determined athlete who constantly seeks to push his personal limits and discover more about his physical and mental capabilities. His passion for cycling spans both competitive and social aspects of the sport. Brandon’s talent and natural ability have led him to compete at the highest levels, achieving significant results both locally and internationally.

Brandon has adapted and excelled in various levels of competition, often overcoming challenging circumstances and limited resources. His ongoing development as a rider, athlete, and team member is a testament to his commitment to the sport.

Jannie Schoeman

Jannie brings nearly three decades of experience in the cycling industry to the Road Commission. He holds a B-grade Manager License and has successfully managed SA Elite Women, Under-23 Men, and Women teams on multiple occasions both domestically and internationally.

Jannie is a registered UCI Coach and holds a Level 2 coaching qualification from the Absolute Motion Coaching Academy. He is also an active licensed rider with three medals from National South African Championships. His passion for the sport and dedication to making a difference are evident in his ongoing involvement with the North West Road Commission and his role as Club Chairman at LTX Cycling Club.

Cycling South Africa is confident that these new Road Commission members will bring fresh perspectives and valuable insights to further elevate the sport. We look forward to seeing their impact on the cycling community!



Ryan Gibbons

ROAD RYAN GIBBONS Elite Men’s National Team Member.  Facebook Instagram Name:  Ryan  Surname:  Gibbons D.O.B 1994/08/13 Current Team/Sponsor: Lidl Trek Place of birth: Johannesburg, GP

Read More »

Miyanda Maseti

BMX MIYANDA MASETI Elite BMX National Team Member. Instagram Name:  Miyanda Surname:  Maseti D.O.B 2005/07/26 Current Team/Sponsor: Leatt & Pho3nix Place of birth: Ugie, EC

Read More »

Alan Hatherly

MOUNTAIN BIKE ALAN HATHERLY Elite Men’s Mountain Bike National Team Member, Rio 2026, Toykyo 2020 Olympian Facebook Instagram Name:  Alan Surname:  Hatherly D.O.B 1996/03/15 Current

Read More »


Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter