History of CyclingSA

Cycling in South Africa celebrates 140 years since the first organised competitive events took place in South Africa. 

Some key milestones:

1881:  Though no national organisation or federation was in place, the first club in South Africa, the Port Elizabeth Amateur Athletics and Cycling Club, was formed.  Today this club is known as PE Cycling Club.

1882:  The South African [Amateur] Cycling Union founded in Johannesburg.

1893:  The South African Cycling Union affiliates to the International Cycling Association.

1896:  Paarl Athletic and Cycling Club was formed and this club still organises the Paarl Boxing Day Meeting every December.

1897:  The South African Cycling Union consisted of 39 affiliated clubs participating in road and track cycling. Green Point Cycling Track opened, sadly it has since been demolished.

1900: Foundation of the Union Cycliste Internationale by the Belgian, French, Italian, Swiss and United States National Federations in Paris, France.

1905:  The South African Cycling Union and the South African Athletic Union merged, and the South African Amateur Athletic and Cycling Association (SAAA & CA) was formed.

1906:  SAAA & CA became affiliated to the International Olympic Council (IOC).

1955:  The administration of the two sporting codes split, and the cycling administration was managed through the South African Cycling Council, though still under the auspices of SAAA & CA.

1957:  A full separation of the combined athletics and cycling administration brought about the South African Cycling Federation (SACF) on the 1st of April.

1963:  The IOC suspended affiliation of South African sports federations due to the nation’s discriminative practices under Apartheid.

1970:  The UCI suspended affiliation of the SACF due to the nation’s discriminative practices under Apartheid.

1977:  The South African Cycling Association (SACA) and SACF held the first combined National Track Championships at Green Point Stadium.

1992:  South Africa returns to world stage participation. 

2003:  Greg Minnaar became the first South African to win the UCI DH World Championships.

2005:  Ernst van Dyk became the first South Afrian to win a Hand-Cycling World Championship.

2006:  SACF became Cycling South Africa incorporating Mountain Biking and BMX.

2006:  Para-Cycling became part of the UCI.

2007:  Robert Hunter became the first South African to win a stage in the Tour de France.

2008:  Ernst van Dyk wins Gold at the Summer Paralympic Games.

2008:  Sifiso Nhlapo first Black South African to represent cycling (BMX)  at the Summer Olympic Games.

2009:  Burry Stander became the first South African rider to win the U23 UCI XCO World Mountain-bike World Champion.

2010:  Para-Cycling became part of CyclingSA.

2012:  William Newman became the first black president of CyclingSA.

2013:  Daryl Impey became the first African rider to wear the yellow jersey at the Tour de France.

2019:  Alan Hatherly became the first South African to win the UCI eBike World Championships.

2020:  Ciska du Plessis-Austin became the first woman president of CyclingSA.

2020:  Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio became the first rider to win the UCI eSports World Championships.

2021:   Nic Dlamini became the first black road South African rider to compete at the Olympic Games.

2021:  Pieter du Preez  du Preez won a gold medal at the Tokyo Paralympic Games

2021:  Greg Minnaar wins his 4th UCI DH World Championships.

2022:  Alan Hatherly became the first South African to win the overall title of the UCI Short Track.

2022:  Qondisa Ngwenya became President of CyclingSA

2022:  Candice Lill wins Silver Medal at Commonwealth Games

2022:  Candice Lill wins Bronze Medal at Commonwealth Games

2022:  Daryl Impey wins Silver Medal at Commonwealth Games

2022:  Louis Meintjes finishes 7th at Tour de France


1894 – 1924          H. Nourse
C.A. Hadley
1926 – 1929          J. Reid
1930 – 1931          J.G. Tyzack        
1932 – 1937          Dr O.L. Shearer
1938 – 1955          Col. H.J.C Stephan
1955 – 1956          A.W. Sanders
1957                        H.W. Mills (Resigned)
1957 – 1959          J.R. De Preez
1960                        R.A. Pressly
1961 – 1971           J.C. Geoghegan
1972 – 1974          A.J. Swift
1975                        R. de Villiers
1976 – 1979          A. Rice
1980 – ?                  R. de Villiers
19? – 2000             Brgd. A.  Combrink
2001 – 2005           G. Hansen 
2006 – 2007           L. Whittaker 
2008 – 2012           G. Till
2012 – 2016          W. Newman 
2017 – 2019           Y. Xatasi
2020 – 2022           F. du Plessis – Austin
Current                   Q. Ngwenya