Joyous Janse van Rensburg wins… again!

CyclingSA Logo

5 May 2012

By: Mark Etheridge


Our newly crowned Tour de Bretagne winner Reinardt Janse van Rensburg did not disappoint in Friday’s 2.8-kilometre prologue time trial at the 60th running of the Ronde van Overijssel cycle race in Holland, winning the event in a time of 3min 48sec – a full 3sec ahead of his nearest competitor.


Proudly wearing his South African National Time Trial Championship skin suit for the first time since he won the title in South Africa in Nelspruit two months ago was another motivating factor.


Fresh from his overall victory in the Tour de Bretagne just two days ago Janse van Rensburg knew that his form was good and this victory brings his tally to nine UCI victories in 2012, a number shared only by Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma Quickstep).


Janse van Rensburg’s Team MTN-Qhubeka teammates did not disappoint either with Arran Brown finishing in sixth place, just six seconds adrift, and Martin Wesemann finished in eighth place 7.75sec behind Janse van Rensburg.


Team MTN-Qhubeka were the only team to place three riders in the top 10 riders on the stage out of the 180 riders that started on Friday. This result puts Team MTN-Qhubeka in the lead in the Team General Classification ahead of Cycling Team De Rijke and Rabobank.


Saturday will see the team race the final stage of the tour over 202km before heading back to Belgium to race Circuit de Wallonie on Sunday.

:: SEARCH ::
Telephone Number:
+27 21 917 1736

Fax Number:
+27 21 917 1749

Physical Address:
3rd Floor, Skyscape Terraces,
DJ Wood Way,
Bellville Business Park, 7535

Postal Address:
P O Box 167, Bellville, 7535

Office Hours:
Mon – Fri
08h00 – 16h30
William Newman (President), Hendrik Wagener (Vice President), Pieter Herbst (Financial Trustee)

Executive Members:- Shahad Khan (Gauteng-Interim), Heine De Jager (Limpopo), Theo Viljoen (Mpumalanga), George Stroebel (Free State), Greg Stedman (KwaZulu-Natal) Yster Xastasi (Eastern Cape), Robert Thomas (Northern Cape), Pieter Aucamp (North West), Corné Bence (Western Cape), Lise Olivier (Rider Representative) Associate Members; (USSA) Etienne Joubert, (SASC) Deon Steyn

Management Committee;- Johan Smith (Track), Brett Coates (MTB), Hendrik Wagener (Road - Interim), Margot Gerber (BMX), Mike Burns (Para), (Coaching-Vacant), Rudi van Wyk (Technical) Corné Bence (Recreation), George Stroebel (Youth, Transformation & Development), Pieter Aucamp (Disciplinary), Craig Proctor-Parker (Events Safety & Security)

Affiliated to:- International Cycling Union (UCI) / African Continental Confederation (CAC) / South African Sport Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC)