Track Cycling Team Selected for World Champs – Minsk, (BLR)

CyclingSA Logo

13 Feb 2013

Cycling South Africa’s Track Commission has great pleasure in announcing that the following riders have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2013 UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Minsk, Belarus from 20 to 24 February 2013.




Bernard Esterhuizen (KwaZulu-Natal)
Nolan Hoffman (Gauteng) 


Team Manager: George Cornelissen


London 2012 Olympian Bernard Esterhuizen is showing great form after recently smashing his own national 200-metre sprint record at a UCI World Cup event in Mexico. The twenty-year old Durbanite is the first South African rider to have broken the magical 10-second barrier, and has shown a new level of confidence since recently joining his new coach Andy Sparks in Spain in December.


Joining him on the team is 2012 world champion silver medalist Nolan Hoffman. Hoffman’s standout performance was in the 15-kilometre scratch race at the 2012 UCI Track Cycling World Champs in Australia in April last year. The unbelievable amount of ground he covered with his explosive pace during the final half lap placed him in strong contention for a podium position, and his final lunge put him in an incredible second place by a mere half a wheel.


Between Esterhuizen from Durban and the 27-year old Hoffman from Franschhoek, currently residing in Johannesburg, South Africa will be well represented in both the endurance and sprint disciplines of track cycling.


The historical country of Belarus is preparing to host the prestigious track cycling world championships. The velodrome with a modern track was built within the Minsk Arena sports centre, and has already played host to other prestigious events such as the European Track Cycling Championships in 2009.


The team will meet in Belarus this Sunday, 17 February.


Click here for the Programme of Events for the 2013 Track Cycling World Champs.


Congratulations on your selection and we wish you every success.  



:: SEARCH ::
Telephone Number:
+27 21 917 1736

Fax Number:
+27 21 917 1749

Physical Address:
3rd Floor, Skyscape Terraces,
DJ Wood Way,
Bellville Business Park, 7535

Postal Address:
P O Box 167, Bellville, 7535

Office Hours:
Mon – Fri
08h00 – 16h30
William Newman (President), Hendrik Wagener (Vice President), Pieter Herbst (Financial Trustee)

Executive Members:- Shahad Khan (Gauteng-Interim), Heine De Jager (Limpopo), Theo Viljoen (Mpumalanga), George Stroebel (Free State), Greg Stedman (KwaZulu-Natal) Yster Xastasi (Eastern Cape), Robert Thomas (Northern Cape), Pieter Aucamp (North West), Corné Bence (Western Cape), Lise Olivier (Rider Representative) Associate Members; (USSA) Etienne Joubert, (SASC) Deon Steyn

Management Committee;- Johan Smith (Track), Brett Coates (MTB), Hendrik Wagener (Road - Interim), Margot Gerber (BMX), Mike Burns (Para), (Coaching-Vacant), Rudi van Wyk (Technical) Corné Bence (Recreation), George Stroebel (Youth, Transformation & Development), Pieter Aucamp (Disciplinary), Craig Proctor-Parker (Events Safety & Security)

Affiliated to:- International Cycling Union (UCI) / African Continental Confederation (CAC) / South African Sport Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC)