2023 CAC Mountain Bike African Championships Team Announcement

CyclingSA and the Mountain Bike Commission are excited to announce the riders selected for Team South Africa for the 2023 CAC Mountain Bike African Championships in Gauteng from 2-4 June.

The team comprises of sixteen riders who will be showcasing their skills in the Junior, U23 and Elite categories. 

The event is expected to attract top riders from across the African continent and it will be a great opportunity for South African riders to showcase their talent and compete for medals.

The Championships will take place at Thaba Trails in Johannesburg powered by Balwin Sport in association with Computer Mania and promises to be an exciting competition for both the riders and the spectators.

We believe that this is a strong team across the categories with a combination of experienced Professional riders and younger upcoming talent. 

The CyclingSA Mountain Bike Commission congratulates all of the riders selected and wishes them the very best as they finalise their preparations.

Junior Women

  • Lilian Barber


Junior Men

  • Massimiliano Ambrosi
  • Ernest Roets
  • Omar Wilson
  • Justin Swanepoel


Under 23 Women

  • Tyler Jacobs

Under 23 Men

  • Johan Van Zyl
  • Luke Moir
  • Kai Von During
  • Matthew Scott
  • Unathi Nxumalo


Elite Women

  • Candice Lill

Elite Men

  • Alan Hatherley
  • Philip Buys
  • Arno Du Toit
  • Luyanda Thobingunya




Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter