Cycling SA is excited to host the inaugural E-Racing National Championship for the Junior Men and Women Categories.

The E-Racing Champs will be hosted on the Zwift platform. It will take the form of a stand-alone event on the Zwift calendar open only to full racing licensed juniors from South Africa.

CyclingSA will be using the Junior E-Racing National Championships to develop a blueprint to build a future series of events to act as feeder races building up from grass-roots, into provincial and then national championships.

Date: Saturday, 08 August 2020

Start Times: Junior Women 10:00 & Junior Men 13:00

Format of the event: Zwift

Course: 2015 Richmond World Champs Lap

Distance: Junior Women – 48,9km (3 laps) & Junior Men – 65,2km (4 laps)

Entry Fee: Free

Entries Close: Wednesday, 05 August 2020

Live Stream: Cycling SA Facebook Page from 09h30 on Sat, 8 August


Congratulations to all who participated in todays National Junior E-Racing Championships and thank you to all who worked behind the scenes to make it possible.

Junior Women
1. Charlissa Schultz (Eden Cycling)
2. Chloe Bateson (KZN Cycling)
3. Ainsli de Beer (KZN Cycling)

>> Full Women’s Junior Results

WhatsApp Image 2020-08-08 at 18.39.02.jpeg

Junior Men
1. Travis Stedman (KZN Cycling)
2. Dilon Geary (East Rand Cycling)
3. Jean du Plessis (Mpumalanga Cycling)

WhatsApp Image 2020-08-08 at 18.39.00.jpeg

>> Full Men’s Junior Results

Zwiftpower verified the results and the accuracy of all powerdata. Unfortunately some riders’ results could not be verified as their equipment had not been calibrated correctly and CyclingSA cannot recognise these performances and results.


The Richmond UCI Worlds route is a replica of the 2015 UCI Road World Championships course in Richmond, Virginia, USA. It was at this race where Peter Sagan famously attacked on 23rd Street to eventually win his first World Champs jersey. It’s a wonderful racecourse, with the first half very flat, then a nice mix of attackable climbs on the back half.

Distance: 16.3km

Elevation Gain: 142m

Screenshot 2020-07-10 at 16.47.44.png

Screenshot 2020-07-10 at 16.47.53.png


Riders are encouraged to consider the possibility of load-shedding on race days and to make adequate provisions to prevent disappointment.



  • A valid junior full racing license.

  • South African Citizen (as per UCI registration).

  • Enter via CyclingSA entry portal.

  • Enter via Zwift link which will be emailed closer to race date.
    NB: Anyone found guilty of sharing the Zwift link with anyone else who has not entered through the CyclingSA website and/or is not a licensed junior rider will be liable to sanctioning by CyclingSA.

  • Riders need to have access to a road bicycle to participate.


  • A power meter or an indoor smart trainer.

  • An active Zwift subscription.

  • Register with ZwiftPower and have it connected to their Zwift account via opting in.

  • Have Strava data open (not private or hidden).

  • A heart monitor is not required, but will be helpful to assist if any results queries arise.

  • A computer and/or screen displaying the race graphics.

  • Internet connection.

  • Weigh-in video: The video must include identifying yourself, weighing-in with clear scale weight indication, your trainer set-up and proof of date such as footage of current online news article or newspaper depicting the date. Videos to be sent in 15 minutes before race start.
    >> Example video here

  • Race clip video: Short video clip to be made of yourself during the race by a friend or family member that displays yourself and the screen of the race.
    >> Example video here

Given the unique lockdown situation currently in South Africa, riders will be allowed to race on-line from any venue.


  • All participants are subject to ZwiftPower’s standard based on Critical Power. Any participant exceeding the applicable limits will be automatically disqualified. Please see www.ZwiftPower.com for more information on Critical Power limits of varying durations for male and female riders.

  • Trainer difficulty feedback will not have an impact as Zwift calculates watts produced. For more information go to: zwiftinsider.com/using-the-trainer-difficulty-setting-in-zwift/

  • Participants using zPower will not be eligible.

  • No Power-Ups are allowed at any time.

  • No TT Bikes.

  • Only standard Zwift bikes may be used.

  • Entrants must line up in Zwift start pens 10mins before the start of their race.

  • Results will be subject to validation and will be formally released by CyclingSA when ZADA has completed their assessment.

  • Additional verification can include a ramp test at a Sport Science Lab that would include height and weight measurements.

  • UCI Cycling Esports Regulations apply. It is important that every rider fully understands the rules. Ignorance of the rules will not be considered as a mitigating factor.


  • The event does not replace the 2020 South African Junior Road Championships.

  • This is a supplement event and the winners will be crowned Virtual National E-racing Champions, with a special jersey and a virtual prize-giving ceremony.


We acknowledge that many riders do not have access to Zwift, smart trainers and/or internet. The road commission, with a representative from each province and region, will ensure eligible riders are identified in advance and work closely with clubs and other support structures to accommodate riders that need assistance.

[DOWNLOAD] CycingSA guidelines for inclusivity: 2020 SA Junior e-Racing Champs

Please contact your provincial road commissioner should you require support.


Free State – Charl Claassen

Gauteng and Gauteng North – Charles Kros

Gauteng Central – Peter McGuirre

Gauteng South – Piet van Rensburg

KwaZulu Natal – Sean Lucien

Limpopo – Ndavhe Ramakuela

Mpumalanga – Ansie de Jager

Northern Cape – Maritza de Klerk

North West – Sias Le Roux

Western Cape and Winelands – Ian Goetham

Western Province – Graham Ward

Eden Cycling – Sonja Schultz

West Coast – Arnold de Leeuw

Eastern Cape – Brian Seaman


In the lead up to the Junior E-Racing National Championship, we will be holding two pre-races in order to allow riders to get the feel for Zwift racing.

Only riders who have entered the Junior E-racing National Championship will receive a Zwift entry invitation link to the pre-races.

We encourage riders to enter the Junior E-racing National Championship as soon as possible to take up this opportunity. The pre-races are not compulsory but will be of benefit.


Date:   Saturday, 25 July 2020

Start Time:  12:00

Format of the event:   Zwift

Course:  TBC

Distance:  32 km


Date:   Saturday, 01 August 2020

Start Time:  12:00

Format of the event:   Zwift

Course:  TBC

Distance:  32 km



Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter