Zamuxolo Xatasi appointed Acting President

Zamuxolo Xatasi, known to his cycling peers as Yster, has been appointed as Acting President of Cycling South Africa by the Executive Committee (Exco) until the next elective congress in 2020.

Yster served as Vice President for two years, and prior to that he was Cycling SA’s Youth Transformation and Development Chair for two to three years.

Cycling SA has been without a president since February 2018, when William Newman resigned and Secretary General Gregory van Heerden adopted the role of caretaker until such time as a new President was elected.

After a call for nominations for the position of President, none of the applications received were deemed suitable by the Exco.

Thereafter, the Exco reverted to the constitution, whereby Yster Xatasi will serve as Acting President until the next elective congress, which will be held in 2020.


Photo credit: Tour de Limpopo / Hayds Brown



Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter