2016 SA Track Champs



28 March to 3 April 2016

Track Champs Dates: Monday 28 March to Friday 1 April 2016
Omnium Champs Dates: Saturday 2 to Sunday 3 April 2016
Province: Eastern Cape
Location: Westbourne Cycling Track, Port Elizabeth
Contact: info@ectrackcycling.co.za


The 2016 South African Track, Para-cycling and Omnium Championships will be held at Westbourne Cycling Track in Port Elizabeth from 28 March to 3 April 2016. The event will be hosted by East Cape Cycling. The 500m track at the Westbourne Oval is an outdoor track.

SA Track Championships:

The South African Track Championships will be held at the Westbourne Oval, Westbourne Road, Port Elizabeth from 28 March to 1 April 2016. The Championships will be held in accordance with the regulations of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) unless otherwise ruled by the National Federation. The National Championships will take place weather permitting. There will be NO extension of the Championships past Friday, 1 April 2016. In case of stoppages, priority will be given to Events eligible for UCI points. The racing format may also be modified at the discretion of the President Commissaire in response to prolonged stoppages with the possibility of events being cancelled due to insufficient time to complete them.

Who can take part

This event is open to South African citizens and permanent residents. The organisers may verify/confirm your participation with your Provincial/ Regional Commission. Riders will not be considered registered until all administrative requirements have been fulfilled. 

This event is open to South African citizens and permanent residents. In order to be eligible to enter, the event organisers will verify and confirm your participation with your Provincial/Regional Track Commission. Junior, Elite & Masters must be in possession of a valid Cycling SA Racing License. Cycling SA Membership is required for U16 and below. All riders must present this license or membership at registration and upon demand during the event. No one-day event licenses will be sold. Riders are not considered until all administrative requirements have been fulfilled:

  • Entry form has been completed
  • Indemnity form has been signed
  • Entry fee has been paid in full
  • Cycling SA Track Racing License or Membership has been verified

Event schedule



Registration will take place on Sunday, 27 March 2016 at the Westbourne Oval from 13:00 to 18:00. At registration you will be able to:

  • Confirm the events you have entered
  • Hand in the signed indemnity form
  • Verify your Cycling SA Racing License or membership for U16 and below
  • Collect your race numbers and accreditation
  • Collect your parking ticket (see parking section below)
  • Collect Team Manager accreditation

Madison, Team Sprint and Team Pursuit entries must be finalised at registration on 28 March 2016. Team entries will only be accepted with all rider’s names. All team members must have entered for the Championships. The team name and jersey that will be worn for the event must be confirmed and presented at registration. A photo will be taken of the jersey and included as insert in the programme. For the Madison event to take place, no less than 10 teams must be entered.


Important downloads

Entry lists




Directions to Westbourne Oval:

From Johannesburg (North) – From the N2 South, Take the M4. Follow the M4 and take the Albany Rd off ramp. Continue up Albany Rd to the top of the hill and turn left into Westbourne Rd. Follow Westbourne Rd for approximately 1 km and the Oval will be on your left.

From Cape Town (West) – Take the Cape Rd off ramp and follow Cape until Rink Street (approximately 10 km). Turn left at Rink Street into Westbourne Rd and the Oval will be right in front of you.

2015 SA National Track Championships



Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter