Cycling team for 2016 Rio Olympic Games announced

Cycling South Africa congratulates athletes and officials who have been announced by SASCOC (South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee) as part of their South African Olympic Team for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in August.

Cycling SA works tirelessly to prepare athletes to perform at international levels and events. The National Federation’s nominations for team selections for this event included both men and women’s teams for road, and a men’s team for mountain bike and BMX cycling disciplines. We maintain that these nominations best support our Federation and country’s opportunity of earning medals at the spectacular global sporting event.

The full cycling team is listed below, which includes Daryl Impey and Louis Meintjes who were both named in the initial Team SA squad of 24 athletes announced by SASCOC on 25 May.

Cycling Code Manager
Brett Coates

Road Race Men
Daryl Impey – Road Race
Louis Meintjes – Road Race

Road Race Women
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio – Road Race and Time Trial
An-li Kachelhoffer – Road Race

Douglas Ryder – Road Manager
Carl Pasio –Road Coach
Gary Blem – Road Mechanic

Mountain Bike Men
James Reid
Alan Hatherly

Jean-Pierre Jacobs – MTB Mechanic

Kyle Dodd

Jonnathan Chislett – BMX Manager/Coach

Cycling SA President, William Newman, said: “On behalf of the Executive and Management Committees, we congratulate all of our cyclists that have been selected to represent their country at such a momentous event. It has often been said that the honour of representing your country at the Olympic Games is an achievement in itself. We wish them well with their preparations as we lead in to the final stretch ahead of the Rio Olympic Games.”



Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter