SA National Championship dates for 2017


Cycling South Africa confirms the calendar dates and provinces that will be hosting the South African National Championship events for cycling events in 2017. Please see below the table of dates and venues of each event.


The SA National Road and Para-cycling Championships will take place in Wellington in the Western Cape in February. Race head quarters will be at Florida Farm Stall just outside of Wellington. The race circuit is 12.7km on the “Lady Loch” circuit for both Road Races and Time Trials. For more information, click here. We’re using our new online entry system on the Cycling SA APP. Entries are open and the online entry bug has been fixed, i.e.: you can enter the Road Race and the Time Trial simultaneously. There is also the option to use your savings card, debit card or credit card to purchase the entry. Please note that the system will not confirm your entry until payment has been received.


There will be four mountain bike cross-country events around the country next year, which form part of the SA MTB XCO Cup Series, each featuring a UCI category 1 rating for Elite Men and Women categories. Juniors will also be able to earn valuable UCI points as three of the four instalments of the series form part of the UCI Junior World XCO Series. Four Downhill races are on the cards, with two Western Cape provincials, one Gauteng provincial and a KZN event doubling as SA MTB DHI Cup Series races.


The web has been cast wide across the country this coming year with Western Cape hosting the Road and Track Cycling Championships as well as the opening round of the MTB Cup Series. Gauteng and Free State will also host legs of the MTB Cup Series, while Mpumalanga will stage the MTB XCO and DHI Championships. The City of Pietermaritzburg will once again host an array of mountain biking events, including the SA National Marathon Championships. The venue for the National BMX Championships is in Kempton Park.


We are so looking forward to welcoming the Para-cycling world to Pietermaritzburg in 2017 and what makes things even more interesting is that when the event takes place in Pietermaritzburg, it will have been two years since any World Championships jerseys would have been awarded. The event dates are set as 31 August to 3 September with 31 August and 1 September being set aside for the Time Trial competitions and 2-3 September is when the Road Races will be staged. The Time Trial competition will once again be staged in and around the Midmar Dam complex as it was in 2015 and the same Road Race route as used at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup events here in Pietermaritzburg in 2015 and 2016 will be used again. These routes are challenging to the riders but in both World Cup years have yielded fair results with the strongest and best in most instances climbing onto the podium.

Stay tuned to our website where all event updates will be loaded as and when more event details are received, particularly closer to the race days.


Ryan Gibbons

ROAD RYAN GIBBONS Elite Men’s National Team Member.  Facebook Instagram Name:  Ryan  Surname:  Gibbons D.O.B 1994/08/13 Current Team/Sponsor: Lidl Trek Place of birth: Johannesburg, GP

Read More »

Miyanda Maseti

BMX MIYANDA MASETI Elite BMX National Team Member. Instagram Name:  Miyanda Surname:  Maseti D.O.B 2005/07/26 Current Team/Sponsor: Leatt & Pho3nix Place of birth: Ugie, EC

Read More »

Alan Hatherly

MOUNTAIN BIKE ALAN HATHERLY Elite Men’s Mountain Bike National Team Member, Rio 2026, Toykyo 2020 Olympian Facebook Instagram Name:  Alan Surname:  Hatherly D.O.B 1996/03/15 Current

Read More »


Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter