South African presence at Tour de France

Following on from the ground breaking achievements of national cycling hero, Robbie Hunter who became the first South African rider to participate in the Tour de France in 2001, the 2015 edition of the Tour de France will see a good representation of South African riders.

Cycling South Africa is very proud of the selection of Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge), Jacques Janse van Rensburg, Louis Meintjes and Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (all MTN Qhubeka) on their selection for the Tour.

Cycling SA President, William Newman, said: “I would like to congratulate all these riders on their selection to participate in the most prestigious event in World cycling. They have worked exceptionally hard and have been rewarded for their efforts. We can assure them that the whole nation will be behind them as they tackle this gruelling race. I also congratulate Douglas Ryder and his team for pursuing a dream, which they have now achieved and are making South Africa proud.”

The Tour de France has been one of firsts for South Africa, with Robbie Hunter being the first South African to win a stage at the prestigious event in 2007 followed by Daryl Impey showing his class by being the first South African to wear the coveted yellow jersey in 2013.

Another talented South African to compete in the gruelling event was John-Lee Augustyn, in 2008.

They have paved the way for our young riders now to come on board and show what they are capable of. This year we enjoy another first with Team MTN-Qhubeka being the first South African and African team to participate in the Tour.

We wish the riders well as they rollout from Utrecht on 4 July 2015 and we will follow their progress all the way to Paris.




Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter