Cycling well represented with nine nominations for SA Sport Awards

Cycling South Africa is ecstatic to announce that cycling is nominated for nine slots for the 2015 South African Sport Awards (SASA), which was announced at SABC Radio Park in Auckland Park, Johannesburg, earlier today.

The annual SASA carries a total of 17 categories plus the two Minister of Sport and Recreation Awards for Excellence and Steve Tshwete Lifetime Achiever Award. The various categories recognise individuals, men, women, people with disabilities, national federations, recreational bodies, schools, volunteers, indigenous games, media and community sport builders for their outstanding sporting achievements from the period 1 September 2014 to 30 September 2015.

The SASA voting panel has been established to allow for maximum participation of all stakeholders involved in sport in South Africa.

The following cyclists and bodies were nominated in the respective categories:

1.     Sportsman of the Year: Greg Minnaar

2.     Sportswoman of the Year: Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio

3.     Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Ernst van Dyk

4.     Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Pieter du Preez

5.     Newcomer of the Year: Jayde Andrew Julius

6.     Federation of the Year: Cycling South Africa

7.     Recreational Body of the Year: Diepsloot Mountain Bike Academy

8.     People’s Choice of the Year: Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio

9.     Minister’s Award – Excellence: Songezo Jim (Team MTN Qhubeka)

In addition to these nominees, Team MTN Qhubeka was also invited to the nominee announcement so could be in line for a special award.

Public voting for the People’s Choice of the Year is what determines the winner in this category, so Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio needs your support. Votes are counted by SMS. To vote for your favourite sport star, SMS the letter for your sports star to 45210*.

People’s Choice of the Year:

A.     AB de Villiers

B.     Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio

C.     Chad le Clos

D.    Lucas Sithole

E.     Wayde van Niekerk

*SMS are charged at R1.50 per entry. Free and bundled SMS do not apply. Voting is open and closes on 22 November at 21:00. Votes are audited by an independent firm.

Cycling SA’s President, William Newman, said: “We are extremely proud that cycling has been recognised in so many categories this year. It is unprecedented that a Federation has so many nominees improving on our 6 finalists from last year. This shows the recognition our riders and organisation are receiving for the hard work being done.  The nominations have shown that cycling is continuing great momentum in growth in so many facets of the sport. Our athletes across so many cycling disciplines have put in the hard work and dedication and to be recognised by their nation is a massive achievement. We wish them the best of luck for the rest of the Awards process.

“We are exceptionally proud of Cycling South Africa’s nomination in the Federation of the Year category. I extend thanks to my Executive Committee, Management Committee, all of our commissioners and our administration staff for their continued hard work. Our riders have played a massive role with their world class performances across all disciplines, elevating the profile of Cycling South Africa not only in South Africa and Africa, but internationally as well. Thank you to all.”

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Mangaung, Free State, on Sunday 22 November 2015.

For the full list of nominations for the 2015 SA Sports Awards, visit:



Miyanda Maseti

Road Miyanda Maseti Tiffany Keep is a road cyclist that will be representing South African at the 2024 Paris Olympic Games. Facebook Instagram Name: 

Read More »

Alan Hatherly

Road Ashleigh Moolman- Pasio Ashleigh is a professional Road Cyclist and two-time Olympian. Rocacorba Cycling | Accommodation and Bike Rental Facebook Instagram Name:  Ashleigh Surname: 

Read More »

Candice Lill

Road Ashleigh Moolman- Pasio Ashleigh is a professional Road Cyclist and two-time Olympian. Rocacorba Cycling | Accommodation and Bike Rental Facebook Instagram Name:  Ashleigh Surname: 

Read More »


Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter