UCI congratulates Cycling SA for Sport Awards nominations

Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI), the world governing body for sports cycling, has sent a message of congratulations to Cycling South Africa upon hearing the recent news that the National Federation secured nine nominations in the 2015 South African Sport Awards (SASA).

UCI President, Mr Brian Cookson, passed on his congratulations to Cycling SA President, Mr William Newman, for “so many nominations for the sport of cycling.

“It is very heartening to see the recent progress of South African cycling being publically recognised at such an event, and I am delighted to see that your Cycling South Africa has been nominated for Federation of the year. You must be very proud and rightly so.

“These are very exciting times for African cycling and I sincerely hope that you carry off all the awards when they are announced on November 22nd,” said Cookson.

Cycling SA was thrilled to learn of the nine cycling nominations for the prestigious event at the announcement last week.

The following cyclists and bodies were nominated in the respective categories:
1.    Sportsman of the Year: Greg Minnaar
2.    Sportswoman of the Year: Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
3.    Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Ernst van Dyk
4.    Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Pieter du Preez
5.    Newcomer of the Year: Jayde Andrew Julius
6.    Federation of the Year: Cycling South Africa
7.    Recreational Body of the Year: Diepsloot Mountain Bike Academy
8.    People’s Choice of the Year: Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
9.    Minister’s Award – Excellence: Songezo Jim (Team MTN Qhubeka)

In addition to these nominees, Team MTN Qhubeka was also invited to the nominee announcement so could be in line for a special award.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Mangaung, Free State, on Sunday 22 November 2015.



Ryan Gibbons

ROAD RYAN GIBBONS Elite Men’s National Team Member.  Facebook Instagram Name:  Ryan  Surname:  Gibbons D.O.B 1994/08/13 Current Team/Sponsor: Lidl Trek Place of birth: Johannesburg, GP

Read More »

Miyanda Maseti

BMX MIYANDA MASETI Elite BMX National Team Member. Instagram Name:  Miyanda Surname:  Maseti D.O.B 2005/07/26 Current Team/Sponsor: Leatt & Pho3nix Place of birth: Ugie, EC

Read More »

Alan Hatherly

MOUNTAIN BIKE ALAN HATHERLY Elite Men’s Mountain Bike National Team Member, Rio 2026, Toykyo 2020 Olympian Facebook Instagram Name:  Alan Surname:  Hatherly D.O.B 1996/03/15 Current

Read More »


Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter