Recognition of cycling grows as SA Sports Awards looms

The recognition of cycling in South Africa continues to gain momentum with the 2014 South African Sports Awards event fast approaching. The ceremony takes place at the Sandton Convention Centre on 30 November 2014.

Cycling South Africa expressed pride in the athletes’ achievements within their cycling codes, with six nominations from five cyclists this year. Greg Minnaar is nominated for Sportsman of the Year; Ernst van Dyk and Nicholas Pieter du Preez for Sportsman of the Year with Disability; Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio for Sportswoman of the Year; and Justine Asher for Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability. A panel of judges will vote for the final winner in these categories.

The additional nomination is for Ernst van Dyk, in the Sports Star of the year category. This category determines the winner by public vote via SMS. To vote for your favourite Sports Star, SMS the keyword SPORTS followed by the letter indicating your selection to 34760 e.g. SPORTS A – if you would like to vote for Ernst van Dyk.

SA Sports Star of the Year Nominees:

A) Ernst Van Dyk
B) Chad Le Clos
C) Portia Modise
D) Khotso Mokoena
E) AB De Villiers
F) Duane Vermeulen

In 2013, Cycling SA celebrated three nominations for the SA Sports Awards. Roxy Burns and Ernst van Dyk were nominated in the Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year with Disability respectively. Cycling South Africa was nominated as Federation of the Year, together with the South African Hockey Association and Swimming South Africa.

Cycling SA President, William Newman, said: “We are proud of our athletes and their achievements and congratulate them on their nominations. We wish them luck for the upcoming SA Sports Awards final event later this month. Like so many of our riders, they have done us all proud this year with their tremendous performances. The status and recognition of cycling is on a steady growth path as can be seen from the progress made with the Sports Awards over the last two years. In 2012 we had one cycling nominee, last year we had two nominees and celebrated our nomination in the Federation of the Year category, which was a great accolade for us. This year, the number of nominees has more-than doubled. Not only has the Federation progressed, but cycling in South Africa is continuously growing in favour across all the disciplines.”



Sign-up for the CyclingSA Newsletter